Southern 100: Michael Dunlop and Guy Martin head Billown entry

Guy Martin finished ahead of Michael Dunlop and Dean Harrison in the feature event in 2013
Guy Martin finished ahead of Michael Dunlop and Dean Harrison in the feature event in 2013

Prolific Isle of Man TT winner Michael Dunlop and reigning Solo champion Guy Martin head the entry for the Southern 100 international road races.

Dunlop will ride the machinery which saw him take four victories on the Mountain Course in June, including his BMW Superbike and MD Racing Honda.

Martin will be joined in the Tyco TAS Suzuki colours by William Dunlop, who returns after his Senior TT crash.

William sustained a double leg fracture in the incident at Graham Memorial.

The 28-year-old, with 13 Southern 100 wins to his name, is set to take his place on the grid on the Billown circuit just four weeks after the crash on the third lap of the race.

As well as participating in the 1000cc and 600cc events, the Ballymoney rider will start as favourite in the 125cc races in the absence of retired regulars Ian Lougher and Chris Palmer.

Michael Dunlop and lap record holder Martin will be competing on the roads for the first time since the TT and both will be looking to add to their tally of two Solo Championship titles apiece.

The Lincolnshire rider triumphed in 2009 and 2013, with Dunlop occupying the top step in 2011 and 2012.

The pair will face stiff opposition from RC Express Kawasaki pilot Dean Harrison, who was awarded the man-of-the-meeting accolade last year.

The Bradford rider, 25, enjoyed a successful TT, following up his second place in the Superstock event with a success in the Lightweight race for Supertwins.

Braddan rider Dan Kneen will hope to transfer his excellent form on board the Cookstown BE Racing bikes on the Irish national road races to the 4.25-mile course at Castletown.

Wilson Craig Honda rider Jamie Hamilton and Lincolnshire's Ivan Lintin should also have a strong say in the top-six leaderboard positions.

Ramsey man Conor Cummins will take in the 600cc events on his Jackson Racing Honda, but does not have the Honda Superbike, on which he secured two podium finishes at the TT, at his disposal.

Harrison, Lintin and Hamilton should face strong competition from rising star James Cowton in the Supertwins.

A quality entry of sidecar crews include TT stars Dave Molyneux, Tim Reeves, Conrad Harrison and John Holden, plus Gary Bryan, Ian Bell, Greg Lambert and Roy Hanks.

Reigning sidecar champion Reeves will be partnered in the chair by Frenchman Gregory Cluze.

The 11-race programme boasts a total prize fund of £33,765.

Practice takes place on Monday 7 July and Tuesday 8 July, with racing on the evenings of Tuesday 8 July and Wednesday 9 July and during the day of Thursday 10 July.