Michael Dunlop named Adelaide Irish Motorcyclist of the Year

Michael Dunlop
Michael Dunlop won his first Senior TT in June on a BMW

Road racer Michael Dunlop has edged out short circuit star Jonathan Rea to win the Adelaide Enkalon Irish Motorcyclist of the Year award for the first time.

Dunlop became the first rider to win four races at the Isle of Man TT in successive years in 2014 and was a double winner at the North West 200.

Michael Dunlop was named Irish motorcyclist of the year

Dunlop was also named International Road Racer of the Year, with Rea chosen as Short Circuit Rider of the Year.

The late Tom Herron was posthumously inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Skerries rider Michael Sweeney won National Road Racer of the Year, while Alastair Seeley, winner of the main award in 2012, was Best Rider on UK and Ireland circuits.

Carrickfergus rider Seeley was second in the British Supersport Championship for Mar-Train Racing, winning eight races during the course of the season.

Andy Reid, who was just pipped to the British Superstock 600cc title, was Young Rider of the Year, Lee Johnston received a Special Recognition Award and John Burrows Racing was selected as Team of the Year.

Recent winners of Adelaide Enkalon Irish Motorcyclist of the Year
2014Eugene Laverty
2013Ryan Farquhar
2012Alastair Seeley

William Dunlop collected the Race of the Year for his last lap duel with brother Michael in Saturday's opening Superbike event at the North West 200.

Bishopscourt race circuit owner Jim O'Brien won the Services to Motorcycling prize and Richard McNeill picked up an Outstanding Achievement Award for winning the Formula 600 British Championship.

Mark McLernon was announced as the Off Road Rider of the Year.

The judging panel could not be separated between Dunlop and Rea for the main award, the Joey Dunlop Trophy, so the accolade was eventually decided by the public online poll, which saw Michael receive 26.5% of the vote.