Isle of Man TT: McGuinness equals Hailwood record seven Senior wins

John McGuinness
The win moves McGuinness to within three of Joey Dunlop's record of 26.

John McGuinness moved to within three of Joey Dunlop's all-time record of 26 Isle of Man TT wins by taking victory in the blue riband Senior event.

The Morecambe man, 43, won a shortened four-lap race re-started following a serious crash involving Jamie Hamilton.

McGuinness finished ahead of James Hillier as he equalled Mike Hailwood's record of seven Senior race triumphs.

Northern Irish rider Hamilton's injuries were said to be "serious but not life-threatening".

McGuinness dominated from start and won by 14 seconds from Hillier, setting a new absolute course record of 132.701mph in the process.

John McGuinness in action in Friday's Senior race at the Isle of Man TT
John McGuinness equalled Mike Hailwood's record of seven Senior race wins at the Isle of Man TT.

Honda rider McGuinness, who won Wednesday's TT Zero race, enjoyed a 1.8-second advantage over Ian Hutchinson at the end of the first circuit but increased his lead, with Hillier moving into the runner-up position thanks to a last lap of 132.414.

Hutchinson, a hat-trick winner this week, completed the podium, with Guy Martin fourth, Michael Dunlop fifth and Conor Cummins sixth.

Martin and Dunlop also broke through the 132mph barrier but it was McGuinness who re-claimed the lap record from Anstey, who set a new benchmark 12 months ago.

"Everyone around the circuit cheered me on and I so appreciate the support of my loyal fans," said a delighted McGuinness.

"Conditions were beautiful and the bike was awesome. I love this place and it was emotional coming down the mountain on the last lap."

Hutchinson had been leading the initial race when it was brought to a halt, with McGuinness, Dunlop, Anstey and Martin also in contention.

John McGuinness
John McGuinness set a new ultimate lap record at 132.701mph (17.03.567 minutes).

Top Stories