Southern 100: Leading TT stars head entry for Diamond Jubilee

Guy Martin
Guy Martin is the second fastest rider ever around the Billown circuit

A host of top international road race stars will headline the Diamond Jubilee Southern 100 meeting at the Billown circuit in Castletown from 6-9 July.

Among those taking part are three-time Solo Championship winner Guy Martin, who has triumphed in the feature event of the meeting for the past two years.

William Dunlop will not compete as he continues to recover from rib injuries.

Dean Harrison returns after winning five races in 2014, while Michael Dunlop and Dan Kneen also take part.

Recent Southern 100 Solo Championship winners
2014 - Guy Martin (Suzuki)2010 - Ryan Farquhar (Kawasaki)
2013 - Guy Martin (Suzuki)2009 - Guy Martin (Honda)
2012 - Michael Dunlop (Honda)2008 - Ian Lougher (Yamaha)
2011 - Michael Dunlop (Kawasaki)2007 - Ian Lougher (Honda)

Lap record holder Harrison campaigns Mar-Train Yamaha machinery, while Manxman Kneen rides for the Batley-based Padgett's Honda outfit.

Tyco BMW rider Dunlop will sit out the event after missing much of the Isle of Man TT because of rib injuries sustained in a practice lap crash.

Other riders expected to challenge for the major honours in the Open and Superport outings include RC Express Kawasaki-mounted Ivan Lintin, Ryan Kneen and English trio James Cowton, Jamie Coward and Russ Mountford.

Lightweight TT winner Lintin faces stiff opposition from Cowton and Coward in the 650cc Supertwins outings.

Cowton was a double winner in the 600cc and Supertwin races at the post-TT meeting over the 4.25-mile circuit on 13 June.

Fastest laps on the Billown Circuit
Dean Harrison 114.601mph, 2014Conor Cummins 112.257mph, 2012
Guy Martin 114.464mph, 2014Ryan Farquhar 112.199mph, 2011
Michael Dunlop 113.922mph, 2013William Dunlop 112.136mph, 2011
Dan Kneen 113.044mph, 2014Ian Lougher 111.883mph, 2005

A stellar sidecar entry is headed by this year's double TT winners Ben and Tom Birchall, plus top Manx competitor Dave Molyneux and his passenger Benjamin Binns.

Other leading crews include Conrad Harrison and Mike Aylott, John Holden and Dan Sayle, Ian and Carl Bell, and Tim Reeves and Mark Wilkes.

The event features a 12-race programme, with practicing on Monday and Tuesday evenings, followed by two scheduled races on Tuesday night, four on Wednesday night and the remainder of the programme on Thursday.

A total prize fund of £33,895 is on offer, with the winner of the nine-lap Solo Championship collecting £3,400.

Top Stories