Glenn Irwin and Josh Elliott take Knockhill victories

Glenn Irwin
Glenn Irwin took his second successive win in the Supersport class

Northern Ireland riders Glenn Irwin and Josh Elliott have continued their fine form by securing wins at the British championship round at Knockhill.

Carrickfergus rider Irwin came out on top in a thrilling Supersport sprint race and was third in the feature race to lead the standings by one point.

Elliott extended his lead in the 1000cc Superstock series to 37 points by taking victory from Michael Robertson.

Alastair Seeley led in the early stages but crashed out unhurt on lap three.

Fermanagh Elliott enjoyed an advantage of six seconds at the chequered flag to repeat his win at Snetterton and make it three triumphs for the season so far.

His nearest rival for the title, Hudson Kennaugh, also failed to finish, giving the Morello Racing Kawasaki rider a healthy advantage going into the next round at Brands Hatch on 19 July.

Irwin was involved in a four-way battle for Saturday's win and was 0.358 seconds ahead of Luke Stapleford at the flag, with Kyle Ryde a further four seconds behind.

Irwin had won the feature event at the previous round at Snetterton but had to settle for the final rostrum place, behind Ryde and runner-up Jake Dixon.

The 25-year-old County Antrim rider sits on 172 points, followed by Ryde on 171 and Stapleford on 169.

Triumph rider Dixon assumed the early lead from the front row of the grid in Supersport race one but was quickly shuffled back to fourth with Irwin, Stapleford and Ryde all moving past on the brakes.

Stapleford was eager to get past Irwin but the Northern Irishman was very strong on the brakes and held off a late lunge from his title rival, before driving up the hill to take the chequered flag for the race win for Gearlink Kawasaki.

Portadown's Marshall Neill finished 11th but Jordanstown's Andy Reid did no take part after failing to recover sufficiently from a foot injury.

Meanwhile Michael Laverty achieved his best result of the British Superbike season to date by taking fourth in race one, won by reigning champion Shane Byrne.

Laverty crossed the line in second place but was later deducted a second for overtaking under a yellow flag.

The Toomebridge Tyco BMW rider was sixth in race two, won again by Byrne, and is seventh in the championship.

Top Stories