Isle of Man TT 2017: Ian Hutchinson fastest in opening practice session

Ian Hutchinson is in his second season with the Tyco BMW team
Ian Hutchinson is in his second season with the Tyco BMW team

Fourteen-time Isle of Man TT winner Ian Hutchinson was fastest in the Superbike and Supersport sessions in Tuesday's opening practice for this year's event.

Hutchinson led the Superbikes with a lap of just under 18 minutes on his Tyco BMW, a speed of 125.839mph.

Michael Dunlop was second at 125.68 on a Suzuki in less than ideal conditions, with damp patches around the circuit.

Hutchinson set 121.15 on his Supersport Yamaha, followed by Dunlop on 121.020, with Michael Rutter fastest Superstock.

Rutter recorded an average lap speed of 124.117 on his BMW, with New Zealander Bruce Anstey close behind with 123.722 on the Padgett's Honda.

The Midlands rider also topped the the Lightweight class for Supertwins at 113.946 on board a Paton machine, while Ivan Lintin was second with 113.856.

Familiar pattern to practice leaderboard

The roads were beginning to dry after rain earlier in the day by the time practice got underway at 18:20 BST.

Dan Kneen
Manx racer Dan Kneen was third quickest on his BMW Superbike

All the riders were keen to reacquaint themselves with the Mountain Course and get some vital set-up time for their bikes after the first two scheduled sessions on Saturday and Monday had to be cancelled because of adverse weather conditions.

The practice leaderboard already has a familiar look about it with Hutchinson, a treble winner in 2016, and Dunlop, who secured a double last year, stamping their authority on proceedings.

Manxman Dan Kneen produced a blistering lap of 124.64 to occupy third place in the first Superbike outing.

Another Manx competitor, Dave Molyneux, with passenger Dan Sayle, dominated the sidecars with a lap of 114.09mph on his third circuit of the night.

Practicing is scheduled to continue on Wednesday, with further sessions on Thursday and Friday, before racing is due to get underway on Saturday with the six-lap Superbike opener, won by Dunlop 12 months ago.

The sidecar crews got their first taste of TT 2017

Fastest Monday practice speeds

Superbike - 1 Ian Hutchinson (BMW) 125.84mph; 2 Michael Dunlop (Suzuki) 125.68; 3 Dan Kneen (BMW) 124.64

Superstock - 1 Michael Rutter (BMW) 124.12; 2 Bruce Anstey (Honda) 123.72; 3 Conor Cummins (Honda) 121.18

Supersport - 1 Ian Hutchinson (Yamaha) 121.15; 2 Michael Dunlop (Yamaha) 121.020; 3 Gary Johnson 120.311 (Triumph)

Supertwins - 1 Michael Rutter (Paton) 113.95; 2 Ivan Lintin (Kawasaki) 113.86; 3 Dan Cooper (Kawasaki) 111.83

Sidecars - 1 Dave Molyneux/Dan Sayle (Yamaha) 114.09mph; 2 Ben Birchall/Tom Birchall (Honda) 110.92; 3 Peter Founds/Jevan Walmsley (Suzuki) 110.43

Isle of Man TT race schedule
Saturday 3 June 11:00 BSTSuperbike (Six laps)
Saturday 3 June 14:00 BSTSidecar 1 (Three laps)
Monday 5 June 10:45 BSTSupersport 1 (Four laps)
Monday 5 June 14:15 BSTSuperstock (Four laps)
Wednesday 7 June 10:45 BSTSupersport 2 (Four laps)
Wednesday 7 June 14.15 BSTLightweight (Four laps)
Wednesday 7 June 16:20 BSTTT Zero (One lap)
Friday 9 June 10:15 BSTSidecar 2 (Three laps)
Friday 9 June 12:30 BSTSenior (Six laps)

Top Stories