Isle of Man TT: Michael Dunlop sets fastest practice time with 131.06mph lap

Michael Dunlop (left) in action in Superbike practice on the Isle of Man on Saturday
Dunlop (left) will aim for his 14th TT victory in Sunday's rescheduled Superbike race

Michael Dunlop stamped his authority on Saturday's final Isle of Man TT Superbike practice session by producing the week's fastest speed of 131.06mph.

The Bennetts Suzuki rider's lap was faster than BMW pair Peter Hickman (130.63) and Ian Hutchinson (130.33).

Manxman Dan Kneen and Michael Rutter were also over the 130mph mark.

Hutchinson remained quickest Superstock with 129.53, while William Dunlop moved top of the Supersport leaderboard with a lap of 125.30.

Martin Jessopp headed the Supertwins thanks to a speed of 116.53 on Saturday, while Ivan Lintin and Peter Hickman were close behind.

The action was punctuated by a series of red flag incidents, with Lee Johnston, Danny Webb and Paul Jordan all recovering from minor injuries in hospital.

TT organisers decided to use Saturday as a further practice session after qualifying had been disrupted throughout the week because of adverse weather.

As a result, the opening race of the meeting, the Superbike will now take place more than 24 hours later than scheduled on Sunday at 14:00 BST.

Overall practice leaderboard

Superbikes: 1 Michael Dunlop (Suzuki) 131.06mph; 2 Peter Hickman (BMW) 130.63; 3 Ian Hutchinson (BMW) 130.33; 4 Dan Kneen (BMW) 130.32; 5 Michael Rutter (BMW) 130.04; 6 Bruce Anstey (Honda) 129.91.

Superstocks: 1 Ian Hutchinson (BMW) 129.53mph; 2 Lee Johnston (BMW) 128.90; 3 Michael Rutter (BMW) 128.59; 4 Dean Harrison (Kawasaki) 128.48; 5 James Hillier (Kawasaki) 128.17; 6 Peter Hickman (BMW) 128.03

Supersports: 1 William Dunlop (Yamaha) 125.30mph; 2 Dean Harrison (Kawaaski) 125.19; 3 Ian Hutchinson (Yamaha) 124.65; 4 James Hillier (Kawaaski) 124.42; 5 Peter Hickman (Triumph) 124.10; 6 Lee Johnston (Honda) 123.37

Supertwins: 1 Martin Jessopp (Kawasaki) 116.53mph; 2 Ivan Lintin (Kawaaski) 116.49; 3 Peter Hickman (Kawasaki) 116.24; 4 Dan Cooper (Kawasaki) 116.10; 5 Stefano Bonetti (Paton) 115.91; 6 Michael Dunlop (Kawaski) 115.57

Top Stories