Scarborough Spring Cup: Lee Johnston on winning form as Dean Harrison wins feature race

Dean Harrison leads Davey Todd
Dean Harrison won the feature Spring Cup event from Davey Todd

Lee Johnston won three races over the weekend at the Scarborough Spring Cup at Oliver's Mount, with Dean Harrison taking victory in the feature event.

Johnston won his Supersport heat on Saturday and followed that up with a success in the opening Supersport A race on Sunday on his Ashcourt Yamaha.

The Fermanagh rider was the victor in Saturday's Ultra-lightweight event.

Bradford's Dean Harrison won the Spring Cup race, plus two Classic Superbike races and Supersport A race two.

The three-time Isle of Man TT winner also took the chequered flag in one of Saturday's Supersport heats to take his overall tally of triumphs for the weekend to five.

His career tally at the Yorkshire parkland circuit now stands at 99.

Harrison won the Spring Cup race by 4.7 seconds from Wilson Craig Honda rider Davey Todd, with Mike Norbury third and Ballymoney's Darryl Tweed the first Northern Irishman home in fifth.

Johnston took his 250cc Honda to victory in Saturday's Ultra-lightweight outing but ended up sitting out the main Spring Cup event as a non-starter.

He has won 18 races in total over the Scarborough circuit.

Dominic Herbertson was also a 600cc Supersport winner, while Jamie Coward and Jim Hind enjoyed successes in the two Supertwins A races, with Tobermore's Adam McLean runner-up on both occasions.

Top Stories

Also in NI Sport