Olympic Dreams: 2012 Team Essex Ambassadors announced

The 2012 Team Essex Ambassadors
The athletes will receive £6,500 from Essex County Council

Fourteen Essex Olympic and Paralympic hopefuls have been announced as the 2012 Team Essex Ambassadors.

The Essex County Council-run scheme gives each athlete a £6,500 bursary towards their training and competition.

Among those joining the scheme for its fourth year are sprinter James Shane, slalom canoeist Fiona Pennie and cyclist Laura Trott.

The names were revealed at the Essex Sports Awards, held at Colchester United's Community Stadium.

In return for the funding, the athletes will visit schools and community groups to inspire people about the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games.

Several of the ambassadors were present at the 2011 Essex Sports Awards.

Among them, James Huckle and Hannah Stodel were also named sports personality of the year and disabled sports personality of the year respectively.

Huckle, 21, said: "It's great to get the recognition, but it's also great see all the other sports people that are putting in all the training ahead of 2012.

"So it's such a great event to attend, but to come away from the award made the evening for me."

Other awards went to judo coach John Horrigan, young volunteer Louise Pannell, the William de Ferrers school and Witham Cricket Club.

Athlete Joshua Olawore was named young sports personality of the year, whilst football coach Dawn Barnard received the unsung hero award.

Top Stories