London 2012 Olympics: BBC presenters and commentary teams

BBC Sport has revealed its full line-up of presenters and commentary teams for the London 2012 Olympic Games.

Leading figures from the world of sport such as Sir Steve Redgrave, Michael Johnson, Denise Lewis and Tim Henman are joined by household names from BBC television, including Barry Davies, Jake Humphrey, Gary Lineker, Clare Balding, Sue Barker and Matt Baker.

BBC Radio 5 live's Nicky Campbell, Peter Allen and Colin Murray feature alongside the likes of James Cracknell, Steve Backley, Pippa Funnell and Karen Pickering.

Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson will lead the team of expert commentators across BBC Radio 5 live's Paralympic coverage.

On this page you can find a sport-by-sport breakdown of our TV and radio presentation teams, as well as details of the TV programmes and presenters you can expect to see each day of the Games.

BBC TV programmes (all times BST)

09:00-midnight - Every Olympic sport from every venue through up to 24 simultaneous, HD-quality, live Olympic streams on the BBC Sport website. 24 channels are also available to cable and satellite viewers through the BBC Red Button.

06:00-09:00 - Olympic Breakfast, BBC One/BBC One HD. A combination of Hazel Irvine and Bill Turnbull or Chris Hollins and Sian Williams start the morning with a look at the main stories from the day before and the expected highlights of the day ahead, also incorporating national and regional news and weather.

09:00-11:30 - Olympics 2012, BBC One/BBC One HD. Mishal Husain brings the first of the day's live action from the athletics, rowing and swimming heats. Venue presentation from Matt Baker, Clare Balding, Jonathan Edwards, Jake Humphrey and John Inverdale.

09:00-19:00 - Olympics 2012, BBC Three. Manish Bhasin, Rishi Persad or Sonali Shah will complement BBC One with some of the best action on offer from the 26 sports at the Games.

11:30-13:45 - Olympics 2012, BBC One/BBC One HD. Live action continues into the afternoon with Matt Baker, Clare Balding or Hazel Irvine. The focus remains on athletics, rowing and swimming heats plus other events including the men's triathlon. Coverage switches to BBC Two 13:00-13:45.

13:45-16:00 - Olympics 2012, BBC One/BBC One HD. Clare Balding, Jake Humphrey or Hazel Irvine take up the baton, focusing on the conclusion of events such as the cycling road races, tennis finals, equestrian and diving.

16:00-19:00 - Olympics 2012, BBC One/BBC One HD. Sue Barker brings us action from the track cycling, gymnastics, tennis and equestrian events. Coverage switches to BBC Two 18:00-19:00.

19:00-22:35 - Olympics 2012, BBC One/BBC One HD. Gary Lineker takes us through the evening and into the night with action including athletics and swimming finals. Coverage switches to BBC Two 22:00-22:35.

19:00-23:00 - Olympics 2012, BBC Three. Jake Humphrey presents the best of the live action from the football, hockey, boxing and basketball.

22:40-midnight - Olympics Tonight, BBC One/BBC One HD. Gabby Logan, in the company of star guests from the world of sport and beyond, focuses on the stories and personalities that have dominated the day and looks at the sport still in progress.

00:15-01:00 - Olympic Sportsday, BBC One/BBC One HD. Dan Walker rounds up the main stories from the day's action.

BBC Radio 5 live

06:00-10:00 - Breakfast. Nicky Campbell and Rachel Burden will present 5 live Breakfast from the Olympic Park, giving listeners the latest stories at the start of the day and interviews with athletes making the news.

10:00-14:00 - Victoria Derbyshire and Mark Chapman will cover the start of the sporting schedule.

10:00-midnight (approx) - Ian Payne and Anna Foster will broadcast live on 5 live Olympics extra, a temporary service broadcasting on digital radio, Freeview and online offering extra choice to listeners.

14:00-18:30 - Peter Allen and Colin Murray follow all of the day's events.

18:30-22:30 - Mark Pougatch will anchor the evening sessions.

22:30-01:00 - Tony Livesey continues the coverage with reaction and discussion from all over the UK.

Sport-by-sport commentary teams

Ceremonies (opening and closing)

TV: Huw Edwards, Hazel Irvine, Trevor Nelson. Radio: John Murray.


TV: Eddie Butler, Liz Mynott.


TV: Steve Cram, Paul Dickenson, Jonathan Edwards, Brendan Foster, Colin Jackson, Michael Johnson, Phil Jones, Denise Lewis, Steve Trew. Radio: Kriss Akabusi, Steve Backley, Darren Campbell, Mike Costello, Allison Curbishley, Sonja McLaughlan, Katharine Merry


TV: Gail Emms, David Mercer.


TV: John Amaechi, Mike Carlson. Radio: Fabulous Flournoy, Chris Mitchell.

Beach volleyball

TV: Matt Chilton, Ed Leigh.


TV: Ron McIntosh, Jim Neilly, Lucy O'Connor, Richie Woodhall. Radio: Steve Bunce, Darren Fletcher.


TV: Andrew Cotter, Paul Dickenson, Helen Reeves. Radio: Alistair Bruce-Ball, Martin Cross, Anna Hemmings.


TV: Chris Boardman, Jill Douglas, Ed Leigh, Hugh Porter, Jamie Staff. Radio: Simon Brotherton, Matt Dawson, Rob Hayles.


TV: Bob Ballard, Leon Taylor.


TV: Andy Austin, Judy Harvey, Ian Stark, Michael Tucker. Radio: Pippa Funnell, Lizzie Greenwood-Hughes, John Hunt.


TV: Karim Bashir, Graham Bell.


TV: Steve Bower, Mark Bright, Garth Crooks, Martin Fisher, Alan Hansen, Mark Lawrenson, Alistair Mann, Guy Mowbray, Jacqui Oatley, Jonathan Pearce, Jo Potter, John Roder, Robbie Savage, Sue Smith, Lucy Ward, Faye White, Steve Wilson. Radio: Ian Dennis, Dion Dublin, Mike Ingham, John Murray, Jen O'Neill.


TV: Matt Baker, Mitch Fenner, Christine Still. Radio: Craig Heap, Alison Mitchell.


TV: Paul Bray.


TV: Mel Clewlow, Barry Davies, Sean Kerly. Radio: Mel Clewlow, Alistair Eykyn, Sean Kerly.


TV: Nicola Fairbrother, Nick Mullins.

Modern pentathlon

TV: Steph Cook, Eleanor Oldroyd. Radio: Pippa Funnell, Lizzie Greenwood-Hughes, John Hunt.


TV: Garry Herbert, Sir Steve Redgrave, Daniel Topolski. Radio: James Cracknell, Martin Cross, Alan Green.


TV: Leigh McMillan, Shirley Robertson, Richard Simmonds, Rob Walker. Radio: Juliette Ferrington, Pippa Wilson.


TV: David Oates.


TV: Sharron Davies, Mark Foster, Andy Jameson, Adrian Moorhouse. Radio: Bob Ballard, Steve Parry, Karen Pickering.

Synchronised swimming

TV: Andrea Holland, Eleanor Oldroyd.

Table tennis

TV: Ian Marshall, Matthew Syed.


TV: John Cullen, Nick Mullins. Radio: Jonathan Overend.


TV: Tracey Austin, Chris Bradnum, Andrew Castle, Andrew Cotter, Tim Henman, John Lloyd, Sam Smith, Virginia Wade. Radio: Iain Carter, Annabel Croft, Jonathan Overend.


TV: Matt Chilton, Steve Trew. Radio: Alistair Bruce-Ball, James Cracknell.


TV: Jonathan Legard.

Water polo

TV: Nigel Adderley, Lisa Knights.


TV: Colin Bryce, Non Evans, Jim Neilly.


TV: Colin Bryce, Non Evans.

Presenters, news correspondents and reporters

Programme presenters: Matt Baker, Clare Balding, Sue Barker, Manish Bhasin, Chris Hollins, Jake Humphrey, Mishal Husain, John Inverdale, Hazel Irvine, Gabby Logan, Gary Lineker, Rishi Persad, Sonali Shah, Bill Turnbull, Dan Walker, Sian Williams.

News correspondents: David Bond, Sally Nugent, James Pearce, Dan Roan, Andy Swiss, Joe Wilson.

Feature reporters: Tina Daheley, Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson, Leon Mann, Jason Mohammad, Ore Oduba, Sir Matthew Pinsent, Garry Richardson, Helen Skelton, Michael Vaughan, Reggie Yates.

Top Stories