Mo Farah to defend European 5,000m title in Helsinki

Mo Farah (right)

Mo Farah will defend his European 5,000m title after being given special dispensation to compete in Helsinki as well as at the GB Olympic trials.

The European Championship begins on 27 June, just three days after the British Olympic trials end in Birmingham.

UK Athletics say any other athlete who qualifies for London 2012 at the weekend will not compete in Helsinki.

However, Farah will be an exception as the 5,000m in Finland does not involve heats and suits his racing schedule.

Farah became the first British man to win the 5,000m and 10,000m double at the outdoor European Championships in Barcelona two years ago, but will not defend the longer distance in Helsinki.

A provisional Great Britain squad of 109 athletes has been named for the Euros, which are being held in Olympic year for the first time and begin just 37 days before the athletics gets under way in London.


100m: Harry Aikines Aryeetey; Dwain Chambers, James Dasaolu, Richard Kilty, Mark Lewis-Francis

200m: James Alaka; Chris Clarke, James Ellington, Christian Malcolm, Danny Talbot

400m: Richard Buck, Luke Lennon Ford, Nigel Levine, Rob Tobin, Conrad Williams

800m: Mukhtar Mohammed, Andrew Osagie, Michael Rimmer, Gareth Warburton

1500m: Andy Baddeley, James Brewer, Tom Lancashire, Ross Murray, James Shane

5000m: Mo Farah, Rory Fraser, Mitch Goose, Nick McCormick

10,000m: Keith Gerrard, James Walsh

3000m Steeplechase: Luke Gunn, Rob Mullett, Stuart Stokes, James Wilkinson

110m Hurdles: Richard Alleyne, Lawrence Clarke, Gianni Frankis, Andrew Pozzi, William Sharman

400m Hurdles: Jack Green, Ben Sumner, Rhys Williams, Nathan Woodward, Rick Yates

High Jump: Martyn Bernard, Robbie Grabarz, Samson Oni, Tom Parsons

Pole Vault: Luke Cutts, Max Eaves, Andrew Sutcliffe

Long Jump: JJ Jegede, Julian Reid, Chris Tomlinson

Triple Jump: Larry Achike

Shot Put: Carl Myerscough

Discus: Abdul Buhari, Brett Morse, Carl Myerscough, Lawrence Okoye

Hammer: Mark Dry

Decathlon: Ashley Bryant

4x100m: Aikines Aryeetey, Chambers, Kilty, Tyrone Edgar, Ellington, Malcolm, Talbot

4x400m: Buck, Michael Bingham, Lennon Ford, Levine, Tobin, Williams


100m: Montell Douglas, Jeanette Kwakye, Ashleigh Nelson, Anyika Onuora, Abi Oyepitan

200m: Onuora, Oyepitan, Jodie Williams

400m: Shana Cox, Lee McConnell, Kelly Massey, Marilyn Okoro, Nicola Sanders

800m: Emma Jackson, Jenny Meadows, Okoro, Lynsey Sharp, Jemma Simpson

1500m: Lisa Dobriskey, Jemma Simpson, Charlene Thomas, Steph Twell, Laura Weightman

5000m: Julia Bleasdale, Helen Clitheroe, Twell

10,000m: Jo Pavey, Charlotte Purdue, Gemma Steel, Sarah Waldron

3000m Steeplechase: Hatti Archer, Eilish McColgan

100m Hurdles: Tiffany Porter

400m Hurdles: Meghan Beesley

High Jump: Isobel Pooley

Pole Vault: Kate Dennison, Sally Peake

Long Jump: Abigail Irozuru, Shara Proctor

Triple Jump: Yamile Aldama

Shot Put: Eden Francis

Discus Throw: Francis, Jade Nicholls

Hammer Throw: Sophie Hitchon, Sarah Holt

Javelin Throw: Goldie Sayers, Laura Whittingham

Heptathlon: Louise Hazel

4x100m: Douglas, Hayley Jones, Kwakye, Nelson, Onuora, Williams

4x400m: Eilidh Child, Cox, Massey, McConnell, Christine Ohuruogu, Sanders