Guernsey pair win annual Sark to Jersey rowing race

Joseph Paul and Paul Isaacs celebrate
Isaacs and Paul were the first to make it to Bonne Nuit

Guernsey's Joseph Paul and Paul Isaacs have won the annual Sark to Jersey rowing race by 24 seconds, knocking last year's winners into second spot.

The pair finished in one hour 51 minutes and 21 seconds, nearly 90 seconds outside the record.

The 2010 champions Simon Johns, Shaun Kelling, James Coquelin, Tom De Kooker and Lloyd Le Page were runners up.

Guernsey's recent dominance in the event continued as crews from the island claimed the top four positions.

The first Jerseymen to reach the Bonne Nuit harbour finish line were Ian Blandin and Derik Mare in fifth.

Organisers' predictions that the record could go this year because of particularly large tides proved to be incorrect.

Isaacs said: "We headed a bit east from Dixcart Bay to take advantage of the tide to bring us to the Paternosters.

"We started really fast and we just tried to keep it going."