World Rowing Championships: Great Britain squad and BBC coverage times

Great Britain rowing
Great Britain's crews are hoping to round off a successful year at the World Championships in Florida
World Rowing Championships
Venue: Sarasota-Bradenton, Florida Dates: 24 Sept-1 October
Coverage: Watch live on BBC Two on Saturday, 30 September and on Red Button on Sunday, 1 October.

Two more crews have been added to the Great Britain team for the World Championships in Florida, starting on 24 September.

Angus Groom and Graeme Thomas have been selected to race in the men's double scull, having both returned to full fitness after several months away from rowing because of injury.

Sam Courty, Caragh McMurtry, Beccy Girling and Rowan McKellar have also been named in a new-look women's four.

Britain now have 19 crews competing at the event in Sarasota-Bradenton.

European champion Victoria Thornley continues in the single scull, having also won two World Cup silver medals this season.

Thornley moved to the single scull in 2017 having won silver with Dame Katherine Grainger in the double scull at the Rio Olympics.

Rio gold medallists Moe Sbihi and Will Satch are included in the men's four, while another Rio champion, Tom Ransley, is part of the men's eight.

London 2012 gold medal-winner Katherine Copeland is named in the lightweight double scull.

Rio Paralympic champions Grace Clough and James Fox are part of the mixed coxed four crew.

BBC coverage times

Times are BST and subject to late changes

Sunday, 1 October

15:15-17:00 - BBC Red Button - live coverage

Monday, 2 October

14:00-15:35 - BBC Two - highlights (repeated at 17:30 on BBC Red Button)

Men's squad


Tom Jeffery, Tom George

Coxed pair:

Tim Clarke, Tom Ford, Harry Brightmore (cox)

Lightweight pair:

Joel Cassells, Sam Scrimgeour


Matt Rossiter, Moe Sbihi, Mat Tarrant, Will Satch


Ollie Cook, Callum McBrierty, Jacob Dawson, Adam Neill, Tom Ransley, Alan Sinclair, James Rudkin, Lance Tredell, Henry Fieldman (cox)

Single scull:

Tom Barras

Double scull:

Graeme Thomas, Angus Groom

Lightweight double scull:

Sam Mottram, Jamie Copus

Quadruple scull:

Jack Beaumont, Jonny Walton, John Collins, Peter Lambert

Lightweight quadruple scull:

Gavin Horsburgh, Peter Chambers, Ed Fisher, Zak Lee-Green

Men's reserves:

Frazier Christie, Cameron Buchan, Oliver Wynne-Griffith

Women's squad


Holly Hill, Melissa Wilson

Women's four:

Caragh McMurtry, Rebecca Girling, Rowan McKellar, Sam Courty


Anastasia Chitty, Rebecca Chin, Fiona Gammond, Katherine Douglas, Josephine Wratten, Holly Norton, Karen Bennett, Rebecca Shorten, Matilda Horn (cox)

Single scull:

Victoria Thornley

Lightweight double scull

Katherine Copeland, Emily Craig

Quadruple scull:

Beth Bryan, Mathilda Hodgkins-Byrne, Holly Nixon (fourth rower to be confirmed)

Lightweight quadruple scull:

Maddie Arlett, Robyn Hart-Winks, Eleanor Piggott, Gemma Hall

Women's reserves:

Alice Baatz, Georgia Francis, Ellie Lewis, Annie Withers, Sara Parfett

Para-rowing squad

PR1 single scull:

Andy Houghton

PR3 mixed coxed four:

Oliver Stanhope, Grace Clough, Giedre Rakauskaite, James Fox, Anna Corderoy (cox)

Top Stories