Lee Briers to lead Wales in Four Nations Series

Lee Briers
Lee Briers is Wales' third-highest points scorer with 98 from 20 appearances

Lee Briers has been appointed Wales captain for the Four Nations Series against Australia, England and New Zealand.

The Warrington Wolves stand-off ended a two-year absence in 2010 to lead Wales to qualification for the tournament.

He missed the decisive win over France as Gareth Thomas took over, but Briers returns for the three-match series.

"There was no reason whatsoever why he wasn't going to retain his captaincy," said Wales coach Iestyn Harris.

Briers is expected to lead Wales on Saturday in their pre-tournament warm-up match against Ireland at the Gnoll in Neath (kick-off 1800 BST).

If he plays, the 33-year-old will win his 21st cap, overtaking Harris to become Wales' third most-capped international.

"Lee is a fantastic servant for Wales," added Harris.

"He is our most experienced squad member, has become a great leader for our nation and has become a good role model for younger members of our squad."

Saturday's friendly will be Wales' first game since beating France 12-11 in October to clinch their place in the Four Nations by winning the European Cup.

Their tournament begins a week later against England at Leigh, followed by games against New Zealand (5 November) and Australaia (13 November).

Wales' 24-man squad includes Gareth Thomas, who took over from Briers in the match against France and is returning to action after breaking his arm in July.

Harris has also included two uncapped Australian-born players, Tyson Frizell and Matt Seamark, who qualify through their Welsh fathers.

The squad came together for the first time this week after training mainly in separate camps in north and south Wales over the past month.

Wales training squad: Chris Beasley (Central Comets), Andy Bracek (Crusaders), Lee Briers (Warrington Wolves), Neil Budworth (MacKay Cutters), Ross Divorty (Featherstone Rovers), Gil Dudson (Crusaders) Ben Flower (Crusaders), Tyson Frizell (Cronulla Sharks), Andrew Gay (South Wales Scorpions), Aled James (South Wales Scorpions), Jordan James (Crusaders), Danny Jones (Halifax) Craig Kopzcak (Bradford Bulls), Elliot Kear (Crusaders), Mark Lennon (Thirroul Butchers), Peter Lupton (Crusaders), Christiaan Roets (South Wales Scorpions), Matt Seamark (Wynnum Manly Seagulls), Gareth Thomas (Crusaders), Ian Watson (Swinton Lions), Ian Webster (Central Comets), Lloyd White (Crusaders), Lee Williams (Crusaders), Rhys Williams (Warrington Wolves).

Ireland Squad: Jonny Cullan (Ballynahinch Rabbitohs), Paddy Barcoe (Carlow Crusaders), Elliot Cosgrove (Dewsbury Rams), Liam Finn (Featherstone Rovers), Bob Beswick, Paul Handforth (Halifax RLFC), Greg McNally (Huddersfield Giants), Luke Ambler, Callum Casey (Leeds Rhinos), Joe Taylor (North Dublin Eagles), Paddy Boyle (Oxford Cavaliers), Tim Bergin, Pat Smith (Sheffield Eagles), Ian Cross, Aaron McCloskey (St Helens), Ged Corcoran (Toulouse Olympique), Lemeki Vaipulu (Treaty City Titans), Tyrone McCarthy (Warrington Wolves), Sean Carmody (York City Knights).