Three England players on 2011 Golden Boot shortlist

Sam Tomkins (left) and Johnathan Thurston
Tomkins (left) and Thurston are both vying to win the Four Nations title

England players James Graham, Ryan Hall and Sam Tomkins have been nominated for the 2011 Golden Boot award.

The shortlist for the prestigious prize also includes three Australians - Darren Lockyer, Cameron Smith and Johnathan Thurston.

The award was inaugurated in 1985 and is voted for by a panel of international players and media.

The 2010 award was presented to New Zealand's Benji Marshall after the Kiwis won the Four Nations tournament.

For the first time, the initial shortlist includes an equal number of Englishmen to Australians, although the organisers of the award, Rugby League World magazine, can add a 'wildcard' player after the final of the 2011 Four Nations tournament.

Steve McNamara's England face Australia in the final on 19 November in Leeds, hoping to reverse the result of their 36-20 loss on the opening weekend of the event.

The winner will be decided by a panel featuring former Golden Boot winners Ellery Hanley, Garry Schofield, Wally Lewis and Brett Kenny.

Fans will also be given their say on the panel via social media. The full result of the vote will be revealed on 2 December.

Winger Hall won this season's Super League Grand Final with Leeds Rhinos and scored tries in the Four Nations against both Australia and New Zealand.

Full-back Tomkins won the Challenge Cup with Wigan Warriors and has scored five tries in the Four Nations series up to the final.

Prop Graham reached the Grand Final with St Helens and announced in April he would be joining National Rugby League side Canterbury Bulldogs for the 2012 season.

Andy Farrell was the last British player to win the award, in 2004. Both Lockyer and Smith are previous winners - Lockyer in 2003 and 2006, with Smith picking up the prize in 2007.