England coach Steve McNamara gives debuts to three players

Steve McNamara

England coach Steve McNamara has named three debutants in his 17-man line-up for Saturday's International Origin game against Exiles.

Wigan Warriors winger Josh Charnley and Leeds Rhinos second row forward Carl Ablett will both start.

McNamara has named Wigan forward Lee Mossop on the bench for the match at St Helens' Langtree Park ground.

"Josh has been in scintillating form with Wigan and deserves his place in the team," McNamara said.

"I have been pleased with the partnership he is forging with Carl Ablett and they are looking a formidable pairing on the right."

Wigan pair Gareth Hock and Sean O'Laughlin have been selected in a new-look back row, as has Hull's Danny Tickle.

But Tickle's Hull team-mate Tom Briscoe has missed out on the squad, along with St Helens forward Jon Wilkin and the Huddersfield pair of Danny Brough and Leroy Cudjoe.

"The four players who have missed out are disappointed and could quite easily have featured," McNamara added.

Exiles coach Daniel Anderson is likely to have Huddersfield forward David Fa'alogo available on the bench after the Samoan joined their camp late on Wednesday.

Former St Helens coach Anderson said: "We've confident that we have a team who can dig in and do well in the emotional component of the game. We've certainly got the talent."

England: Sam Tomkins (Wigan Warriors), Josh Charnley (Wigan Warriors), Carl Ablett (Leeds Rhinos), Ryan Atkins (Warrington Wolves), Ryan Hall (Leeds Rhinos), Kevin Sinfield (Leeds Rhinos), Rangi Chase (Castleford Tigers), Eorl Crabtree (Huddersfield Giants), James Roby (St Helens), Jamie Peacock (capt, Leeds Rhinos), Gareth Hock (Wigan Warriors), Danny Tickle (Hull FC), Sean O'Loughlin (Wigan Warriors). Replacements: Rob Burrow (Leeds Rhinos), Garreth Carvell (Warrington Wolves), Lee Mossop (Wigan Warriors), Jamie Jones-Buchanan (Leeds Rhinos).

Exiles: Brett Hodgson (capt, Warrington Wolves), Joel Monaghan (Warrington Wolves), Setaimata Sa (Catalan Dragons), Daryl Millard (Catalan Dragons), Francis Meli (St Helens), Thomas Leuluai (Wigan Warriors), Scott Dureau (Catalan Dragons), Tony Puletua (St Helens), Lance Hohaia (St Helens), Jeff Lima (Wigan Warriors), Willie Manu (Hull FC), Sia Soliola (St Helens), Trent Waterhouse (Warrington Wolves), Replacements (from): Anthony Laffranchi (St Helens), Antonio Kaufusi (London Broncos), David Fa'alogo(Huddersfield Giants), David Faiumu (Huddersfield Giants), Epalahame Lauaki (Wigan Warriors).