Rugby League World Cup 2013: Scotland pick Aussie-based stars

Brisbane Broncos scrum-half Peter Wallace

Gold Coast Titans full-back Matt Russell is among six uncapped players named in Scotland's 23-man squad for the Rugby League World Cup.

The Irvine-born 20-year-old is one of four players in the squad who play in Australia's National Rugby League.

Brisbane Broncos scrum-half Peter Wallace, Gold Coast prop Luke Douglas and North Queensland Cowboys centre Kane Linnett are the others.

Bradford Bulls' Danny Addy and Widnes' Ben Kavanagh are the other new faces.

Scotland coach Steve McCormack
McCormack has suffered several withdrawals from his squad

Utility player Addy and prop Kavanagh are among 10 Super League players to be included in coach Steve McCormack's squad.

Brothers Adam and Jonathan Walker, who play for Hull Kingston Rovers and Castleford Tigers respectively, make the final draft.

But Joe Wardle was forced to withdraw from selection because the Huddersfield Giants centre has to undergo shoulder surgery.

St Helens prop Alex Walmsley was also in line to make his Scotland debut before pulling out with a cracked rib.

McCormack had hoped to include two more from Australia's top flight, but were also ruled out through injury.

There are, however, three members of Sheffield Eagles' victorious Championship-winning team in hooker Andrew Henderson, prop Mitchell Stringer and second rower Alex Szostak

Scotland will go into camp on 13 October to prepare for a warm-up game against Papua New Guinea and their opening World Cup clash with Tonga at Workington's Derwent Park on Tuesday, 29 October.

Scotland squad: Gareth Moore (Batley Bulldogs), Danny Addy (Bradford Bulls), Peter Wallace (Brisbane Broncos), Jonathan Walker (Castleford Tigers), Ian Henderson (Catalan Dragons), Ben Hellewell (Featherstone Rovers), David Scott (Featherstone Rovers), Luke Douglas (Gold Coast Titans), Matthew Russell (Gold Coast Titans), Sam Barlow (Halifax), Dale Ferguson (Huddersfield Giants), Danny Brough (Huddersfield Giants), Adam Walker (Hull Kingston Rovers), Ben Fisher (London Broncos), Alex Hurst (London Broncos), Kane Linnett (North Queensland Cowboys), Andrew Henderson (Sheffield Eagles), Mitch Stringer (Sheffield Eagles), Alex Szostak (Sheffield Eagles), Oliver Wilkes (Wakefield Wildcats), Ben Kavanagh (Widnes Vikings), Brett Carter (Workington Town), Brett Phillips (Workington Town).

Top Stories