Huddersfield's Danny Brough wins Super League Man of Steel award

Media playback is not supported on this device

Danny Brough - Man of Steel

Huddersfield's Danny Brough won the 2013 Super League Man of Steel award.

Giants skipper Brough, 30, beat Wigan's Sean O'Loughlin and Leeds' Jamie Peacock to claim the prestigious prize.

Brough, who will captain Scotland in the World Cup next month after being overlooked by England, was named last week as the Rugby League Writers' Association player of the year.

Paul Anderson won coach of the year after Huddersfield finished top of the table for the first time in 81 years.

Anderson, who has completed his first season in the job, also took the Giants to within 80 minutes of a first Grand Final appearance.

Former Hull, Castleford and Wakefield half-back Brough - born in Dewsbury - broke Ben Gronow's Huddersfield club record of 147 goals in a season, which stood for 93 years, and Pat Devery's record for points in a season, set in 1953.

His displays earned him the Albert Goldthorpe Medal, created by Rugby League Express in 2008 to honour the leading players in Super League each year, for the second time.

"I was pretty gobsmacked," said Brough after claiming the Man of Steel award, voted for by Super League players before a five-man selection panel decides the winner from a shortlist.

"There are many great players in the game and, for me to receive this many awards, it's the best year I've had in my career by far."

He added: "(Being captain) meant I've had to lead from the front in every game, not take a step back and, when things haven't been going so good, I've had to try to step up.

Paul Anderson Danny Brough
Paul Anderson was named coach of the year

"I play off the cuff but, since I've had the captaincy, I've had to try to stand up and be pretty basic - not have one good game in four.

"I've had to try to have four good games out of four and I think that's stood me in good stead."

Peacock was the top metre-maker in 2013 while Hull's 20-year-old centre Ben Crooks was named Super League's young player of the year after scoring 19 tries in 18 appearances.

His team-mate Danny Houghton was named hit man of the year after topping the tackle count.

St Helens were named club of the year and former Bradford, Wigan and Huddersfield prop Stuart Fielden and ex-Wigan, Hull, Hull KR and Widnes full-back Shaun Briscoe were handed lifetime achievement awards to mark their respective retirements.

Top Stories