Super League: Wakefield Wildcats 16-14 Leeds Rhinos

Danny Washbrook
Danny Washbrook scored Wakefield's first try against Leeds

Leeds Rhinos failed to move to the top of Super League as they fell to a narrow defeat at Wakefield.

Wildcats led through Danny Washbrook's try but the Rhinos went in 8-6 ahead at the break, after tries from Kallum Watkins and Ben Jones-Bishop.

The hosts regained the lead when Richie Mathers was sent over by Paul Sykes, who then added his second kick.

Leeds responded through Ryan Hall's score but Richard Owen's unconverted try edged it for Wakefield.

Defeat for the visitors means they remain a point behind leaders St Helens, who face Hull KR on Sunday, while the Wildcats' resurgence under James Webster continues.

Wildcats fight back
Wakefield are now unbeaten in four Super League games after wins over Leeds, Wigan and London Broncos, and a draw against Hull FC.

The hosts thought they had got off to the perfect start when Chris Riley touched down, but his effort was ruled out by the video referee after Reece Lyne put a foot in touch.

The television official was called upon again when Washbrook pinned down Tim Smith's chip over the top and this time the try was given, and Sykes landed his first conversion to make it 6-0.

The Rhinos had looked out of sorts early on but a clinical finish by Watkins on the right edge got them off the mark, although Liam Sutcliffe missed the extras.

They followed it up with a stunning solo effort from Jones-Bishop, who raced clear of three tacklers to give the visitors the lead at half-time.

Wakefield responded after the break as Mathers pounced on an inside ball from Sykes, who added two points with the boot.

But Leeds did not give up and Hall touched down after Danny McGuire sent a high kick towards the corner, Sutcliffe slotting over his first goal of the night to give the Rhinos a two-point advantage.

McGuire then had a try ruled out and it proved crucial, as Owen went sliding over in the corner to win it for Wakefield late on.

Wakefield: Mathers; Owen, Lyne, Keinhorst, Riley; Sykes, T Smith; Raleigh, McShane, Scruton, Gilmour, Ryan, Washbrook.

Replacements: Godinet, Moore, Tautai, D Smith.

Leeds: Jones-Bishop; T Briscoe, Watkins, Moon, Hall; Sutcliffe, McGuire; Bailey, Aiton, Peacock, S Ward, Delaney, Minchella.

Replacements: Walters, Singleton, R. Ward, Mulhern.

Attendance: 4,364

Referee: Matthew Thomason (RFL)

Top Stories