Four Nations 2014: Billy Slater withdraws from Australia side

Billy Slater
Slater won the World Cup with the Kangaroos in 2013
Four Nations
Venues: Australia and New Zealand Dates: 25 October to 15 November Coverage: Watch England matches live on BBC TV, online, tablets, mobiles and BBC Sport app.

Melbourne full-back Billy Slater has withdrawn from Australia's Four Nations squad to undergo shoulder surgery.

The 31-year-old, who played a key role in the Kangaroos' World Cup success in 2013, will have an operation to repair an injury to his right AC joint.

Slater picked up the injury in Queensland's opening State of Origin game and is expected to be out for about three months.

He becomes the 12th player to be ruled out of Tim Sheens's squad.

Full-back options have been limited for Sheens by the loss of St George-Illwarra's Josh Dugan. although form player Jarryd Hayne from Parramatta is an ideal deputy.

Meanwhile, Gavin Cooper, Johnathan Thurston, James Tamou and Matt Scott from North Queensland and Manly's Anthony Watmough, Brett Stewart, Daly Cherry-Evans and Brenton Lawrence also join the squad following their clubs' exits from the NRL end-of-season finals.

The tournament, which gets under way on 25 October, will see Australia take on New Zealand, England and Samoa.

WITHDRAWALS: Dale Copley (Broncos), Justin Hodges (Broncos), Matt Gillett (Broncos), Brett Morris (Dragons), Josh Dugan (Dragons), Trent Merrin (Dragons), Will Hopoate (Eels), Andrew Fifita (Sharks), Michael Gordon (Sharks), Billy Slater (Storm), Aidan Sezer (Titans),Dave Taylor (Titans).

UPDATED KANGAROOS TRAINING SQUAD: Ben Hunt, Corey Parker, Josh McGuire, Sam Thaiday (Broncos), Gavin Cooper, James Tamou, Johnathan Thurston, Matt Scott (Cowboys), Michael Morgan, Jarryd Hayne (Eels), Beau Scott, Kurt Gidley, Willie Mason (Knights), Anthony Milford, Jack Wighton, Jarrod Croker, Josh Papalii (Raiders), Anthony Watmough, Brenton Lawrence, Brett Stewart, Daly Cherry-Evans (Sea Eagles), Luke Lewis (Sharks), Cameron Smith, Cooper Cronk, Ryan Hoffman, William Chambers (Storm), Aaron Woods, Robbie Farah (Tigers), Greg Bird (Titans), Jacob Lillyman (Warriors).

Top Stories