Four Nations 2014: Greg Inglis set for Australia full-back start

Greg Inglis
Greg Inglis won the NRL Grand Final with South Sydney Rabbitohs earlier this month
Four Nations
Venues: Australia and New Zealand Dates: 25 October to 15 November Coverage: Watch England matches live on BBC TV, online, tablets, mobiles and BBC Sport app.

Jarryd Hayne has withdrawn from Australia's Four Nations squad, leaving South Sydney's Greg Inglis as their likely full-back for the series.

Coach Tim Sheens had already lost regular fixture Billy Slater to injury.

The Kangaroos begin the series against New Zealand in Brisbane on 25 October, while England play Samoa.

Inglis, 27, was a member of Australia's World Cup-winning side last year, but his involvement in the NRL play-offs with his club over the past few weeks prevented him from joining up with the national team earlier.

Jarryd Hayne
Hayne won the World Cup with Australia in 2013 and State of Origin with New South Wales in 2014

He is one of three Rabbitohs in the squad, with winger Alex Johnston and centre Dylan Walker two of 10 uncapped players included.

Souths, inspired by a man-of-the-match performance from Englishman Sam Burgess in his final game before switching codes to rugby union, beat Canterbury 30-6 in the Grand Final on 5 October to clinch their first NRL title for 43 years.

Losing finalists Canterbury Bulldogs are represented in the Kangaroos squad by prop David Klemmer and back-rower Josh Jackson.

Sheens, who is also without star stand-off and joint-NRL player of the year Johnathan Thurston, is likely to name Daly Cherry-Evans alongside Cooper Cronk as his half-back partnership.

Australia squad: Greg Bird (Gold Coast Titans), Daly Cherry-Evans (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles), Boyd Cordner, Aidan Guerra, Michael Jennings, Daniel Tupou (Sydney Roosters), Cooper Cronk, Ryan Hoffman, Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm), Robbie Farah, Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers), Ben Hunt, Corey Parker, Sam Thaiday (Brisbane Broncos), Greg Inglis, Alex Johnston, Dylan Walker (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Josh Jackson, David Klemmer (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs), Josh Mansour, Matt Moylan (Penrith Panthers), Sione Mata'utia, Beau Scott (Newcastle Knights), Josh Papalii (Canberra Raiders).