European Championship: Wales 14-46 Ireland

Liam Finn
Castleford inside half Liam Finn scored 18 points as Ireland ran riot against Wales.
Wales (0) 14
Tries: Williams, Grant, Hughes Goals: Reece, Emanuelli
Ireland (28) 46
Tries: Hope, Hargreaves (3), Ambler, Finn, Peacock, Dunne Goals: Finn (7)

Ireland thrashed Wales in the final 2014 European Championship match in Wrexham, but failed to register the 41-point margin needed to claim the title.

Instead Scotland progress to the 2016 Four Nations and 2017 Rugby League World Cup.

The Irish scored eight tries through Brad Hargreaves (3), Luke Ambler, Liam Finn, Haydn Hancock, Will Hope and Casey Dunn.

Outclassed Wales replied through Rhys Williams, Dalton Grant and Tom Hughes.

In addition to his try, Castleford Tigers inside half Finn kicked seven out of eight conversion attempts.

Conversions by Lewis Reece and Paul Emanuelli completed the scoring for Wales, who lost all three of their matches in the tournament.


WALES: Tom Hughes (Coventry Bears), Dalton Grant (Barrow Raiders), Lewis Reece (Toowoomba Clydesdales), Christiaan Roets (North Wales Crusaders), Rhys Williams (Central Queensland Capras), Ollie Olds (Ipswich Jets, Australia), Peter Lupton (Workington Town, capt), Byron Smith (Batley Bulldogs), Matty Fozard (St Helens), Matty Barron (Gateshead Thunder), Ricky Hough (Gateshead Thunder), Ashley Bateman (South Wales Scorpions), Daniel Fleming (Castleford Tigers) 481

Subs: Joe Burke (Barrow Raiders), Connor Farrer (South Wales Scorpions), Morgan Evans (South Wales Scorpions), Paul Emanuelli (South Wales Scorpions).

IRELAND: Shannon McDonnell (St. Helens), Brad Hargreaves (Wigan St. Patricks), Haydn Peacock (Carcassonne), Stuart Littler (Leigh Centurions), Casey Dunne (Athboy Longhorns), Ben Johnston (Halifax RLFC), Liam Finn (Castleford Tigers), Robbie Mulhern (Leeds Rhinos), Bob Beswick (Leigh Centurions), Luke Ambler (Halifax), Will Hope (Sheffield Eagles), Josh Toole (North Sydney Bears), Callum Casey (Halifax)

Subs: Jobe Murphy (Dewsbury Rams), Sean Hesketh (Batley Bulldogs), James Toole (Tweed Head Seagulls) Matty Hadden (Antrim Eels)

Referee: Ben Thaler (England)

Attendance: 1,293

Top Stories