Super League: Leeds Rhinos 25-18 Wigan Warriors

By Nathan MiddletonBBC Sport
Danny McGuire
Danny McGuire has now scored 13 tries in 2015
First Utility Super League - Super 8s
Leeds (20) 25
Tries: McGuire, Moon, Hall, Watkins Goals: Sinfield 4 Drop goal: Hardaker
Wigan (4) 18
Tries: Farrell 2, Bateman, Manfredi Goal: Bowen

Leeds won a tight contest 25-18 against Wigan to extend their lead at the top of the Super League Super 8s table.

Tries from Danny McGuire, Joel Moon and Ryan Hall gave the Rhinos a 20-4 lead at half-time, with Liam Farrell crossing for Wigan.

After a long delay for a neck injury to Leeds forward Mitch Achurch, Farrell and Kallum Watkins exchanged tries.

Despite John Bateman and Dom Manfredi crossing late on, the Rhinos now sit four points clear at the top.

Leeds level the 2015 series
After Leeds won the first meeting of the season at Headingley, the Warriors won at the Magic Weekend and again last month at the DW Stadium.

On a wet evening in Headingley, the hosts took the lead inside three minutes when, after a long deliberation by the video referee, McGuire's effort was given in the corner.

Farrell touched down George Williams's grubber kick in response for Wigan, but Moon and Hall's scores gave the hosts a 16-point advantage at the break.

After a 15-minute delay for Achurch's injury, which ended with him being taken off on a stretcher, some excellent Leeds defence prevented a number of scores by the visitors.

Shaun Wane's side eventually broke through as Farrell crossed for his second, but Watkins's close-range effort and Zak Hardaker's drop goal extended the Rhinos's advantage.

Wigan rallied through Bateman and Manfredi's late tries and despite the loss in Yorkshire stay second following St Helens's defeat.

Liam Farrell
Wigan's Liam Farrell reaches through four Leeds defenders to score his second try
Jamie Peacock
Leeds forward Jamie Peacock is in his final season as a player before taking a football manager role at Hull KR

Leeds: Hardaker; Briscoe, Watkins, Moon, Hall; Sinfield, McGuire; Garbutt, Cuthbertson, Peacock, Ward, Ablett, Singleton.

Replacements: Keinhorst, Burrow, Leuluai, Achurch.

Wigan: Bowen; Charnley, Gelling, Bateman, Manfredi; Williams, Smith; Flower, McIlorum, Mossop, J Tomkins, L Farrell, O'Loughlin.

Replacements: Powell, Mossop, Patrick, Sutton.

Referee: Richard Silverwood (RFL)

Top Stories