European Championship: Wales 18-12 Scotland

Steve Parry
Gloucestershire All Golds player Steve Parry was one of three Wales try scorers
European Championship
Wales (12) 18
Tries: Parry, Grant, Walker Goals: C Davies 3
Scotland (6) 12
Tries: Ferguson, Thomas Goals: Brough 2

Wales opened their European Championship campaign with an impressive win over defending champions Scotland in Wrexham.

John Kear's side failed to win a game in last year's tournament.

But tries from Steve Parry, Dalton Grant and Anthony Walker, plus three Courtney Davies goals, ensured a moral-boosting win for Wales.

Scotland were always playing catch-up but finished with tries from Dale Ferguson and Oscar Thomas

Wales started brightly and Parry weaved his way through the Scottish defence to go under the posts, allowing Davies an easy conversion.

Davies increased the home side's lead when he was the subject of a dangerous tackle, picking himself up to kick the resulting penalty goal.

Scotland hit back through a Ferguson try between the sticks, converted by Danny Brough.

But Grant squeezed over in the corner to give Wales a 12-6 lead at half-time.

Ferguson nearly grabbed a second try as Scotland started the second period well, but he was held up over the line.

Wales stretched their lead with another Davies kick, before Walker went over after good work by Rhys Williams and Ollie Olds.

Thomas ensured a thrilling finale as his try, converted by Brough, brought Scotland to within a converted try of claiming a draw.

But Wales held firm to get their campaign up and running.

Wales next host France at Cardiff Arms Park on 30 October, before an away game in Ireland on 7 November.

Wales squad: Michael Channing (Castleford Tigers), Dalton Grant (Dewsbury Rams), Courtney Davies, Jamie Murphy, Steve Parry, Lewis Reece (Gloucestershire All Golds), Craig Kopczak (Huddersfield Giants), Elliot Kear, Rhys Williams (London Broncos), Matt Barron, Ricky Hough (Newcastle Thunder), Joe Burke, Rob Massam, Christian Roets (North Wales Crusaders), Morgan Knowles (St Helens), Ollie Olds (Souths Logan Magpies), Anthony Walker (Wakefield Trinity), Phil Joseph (Widnes Vikings), Rhodri Lloyd (Wigan Warriors)

Scotland squad: Danny Addy, Dale Ferguson (Bradford Bulls), Corbyn Kilday (Central Queensland Capras), David Scott (Doncaster), Lewis Clarke, Scott Plumridge, Craig Robertson (Edinburgh Eagles), Joe McClean (Gloucestershire All Golds), Danny Brough (Huddersfield Giants), Sonny Esslemont, Adam Walker (Hull KR), Johnny Walker (Leigh Centurions), Ben Hellewell, Oscar Thomas, Alex Walker (London Broncos), Liam Hood (Salford Red Devils), Richard Harris (Warrington Wolves), Ben Kavanagh (Widnes Vikings), Harvey Burnett (unattached)

Top Stories