Challenge Cup: Dewsbury Rams 4-54 Wigan Warriors

Wigan winger Josh Charnley
Josh Charnley played in both Wigan's Challenge Cup final wins at Wembley in 2011 and 2013
Dewsbury (4) 4
Try: Sykes
Wigan Warriors (36) 54
Tries: Charnley 2, Gildart 2, Bateman 2, Williams, Sarginson, Sutton, Tierney Goals: Charnley 7

Wigan ran in 10 tries at the Tetley's Stadium to comfortably dispose of Dewsbury Rams and reach the quarter-finals of the Challenge Cup.

Josh Charnley, Oliver Gildart and John Bateman scored two tries each for the record 19-times Challenge Cup winners.

George Williams, Dan Sarginson, Ryan Sutton and Lewis Tierney also crossed, with Charnley adding seven conversions for a 22-point individual haul.

The Rams' only points came from a first-half try by stand-off Paul Sykes.

A year on from going out at the same sixth-round stage 16-12 at home to Hull KR, Wigan made sure there were no such mistakes this time.

Against a Dewsbury side currently ninth in the Championship, they were back a lot nearer full strength with the return of skipper Sean O'Loughlin, Dom Crosby and winger Dom Manfredi, although returning full-back Sam Tomkins was still at least a week away from being considered for selection.

Dewsbury coach Glenn Morrison: "They showed respect by putting out probably their strongest side this year and were just too good in the first half.

"We got some line breaks and came close to scoring a couple of times and we have some things to work on next week."

Wigan coach Shaun Wane: "This is not the easiest place to come. I'm happy with that score.

"We protected a lot of players in the second half with Friday's game against Hull in mind.

"We went a bit sloppy in the last quarter and could have been a bit smarter."

Dewsbury: Guzdek; Kudangirana, Crookes, Grady, Grant; Sykes, Kain; L Adamson, Speakman, Teanby, Hale, Trout, Farrell.

Replacements: Conroy, Brown, Muranka, Walker.

Wigan: Sarginson; Manfredi, Gelling, Gildart, Charnley; Williams, Smith; Crosby, Powell, Mossop, Bateman, Isa, O'Loughlin.

Replacements: Tautai, Sutton, Tierney, Burke.

Referee: Chris Campbell

Top Stories