Super League Dream Team: Six Castleford Tigers players in team of 2017 season

Michael Shenton
Michael Shenton's Castleford won 25 of their 30 Super League matches to finish top of the table

Castleford Tigers' dominance of Super League in 2017 has been reflected in six Dream Team selections.

Man of Steel nominees Zak Hardaker and Luke Gale are joined by Greg Eden, Michael Shenton, Grant Millington and Mike McMeeken in the 13-man line-up.

The third of the player award nominees, Albert Kelly, is one of two players from Challenge Cup winners Hull FC.

Leeds, St Helens, Wigan, Salford and Huddersfield all contribute one player each to the Dream Team.

Wigan and England captain Sean O'Loughlin makes his sixth appearance in the line-up, while second-rower Ben Murdoch-Masila is Salford's first representative since David Hodgson in 2006.

Castleford's runaway League Leaders' Shield success, with 25 league wins from 30 games, impressed the panel of journalists, broadcasters and experts who submitted their votes for the team of the season.

The two Super League semi-finals - Castleford v St Helens and Leeds Rhinos v Hull FC - take place on Thursday and Friday respectively, with the winners progressing to the Grand Final at Old Trafford on 7 October.

Super League Dream Team

  • Backs: Zak Hardaker (Castleford); Greg Eden (Castleford), Michael Shenton (Castleford), Mark Percival (St Helens), Mahe Fonua (Hull FC); Albert Kelly (Hull FC), Luke Gale (Castleford).
  • Forwards: Grant Millington (Castleford), Matt Parcell (Leeds), Seb Ikahihifo (Huddersfield), Ben Murdoch-Masila (Salford), Mike McMeeken (Castleford), Sean O'Loughlin (Wigan).

Top Stories