2018 Rugby League European Championship: Scotland 12-50 Wales

John Kear
John Kear guided Sheffield Eagles to victory in the 1998 Challenge Cup final over Wigan
2018 Rugby League European Championship: Scotland v Wales
Scotland (12) 12
Tries: Dixon, Bell Cons: Brierley 2
Wales (8) 50
Tries: Williams 3, Jenkins 2, Ralph 2, Butler, Evans Cons: Olds 7

Wales scored 50 unanswered points to get their European Championship bid back on track against Scotland.

A hat-trick of tries from Rhys Williams and two a piece for Elliott Jenkins and Josh Ralph saw John Kear's side come from behind in Galashiels on Friday.

James Olds also added seven conversions for Wales after Davey Dixon and James Bell had given Scotland an early lead.

Wales keep their hopes of World Cup qualification alive with one more game to play, versus Ireland on 11 November.

Dixon and Bell crossed early for Scotland as the hosts stormed into a 12-0 lead with Ryan Brierley converting both tries.

Williams and Jenkins hit back in the first-half for Wales but the hosts took a slender lead into the break after both conversions were missed from the visitors.

However the most dominant of second-half displays saw European champions Wales come good to set up a crucial game against Ireland next week.

Ireland and France both won their respective opening games and play on Saturday afternoon in Santry, Dublin.

The Championship winner and runner-up will qualify automatically for the 2021 World Cup.

Scotland travel to France for their final game on Saturday, 10 November while Wales host Ireland at Wrexham's Racecourse Stadium on Sunday, 11 November.

Scotland squad: David Scott (Batley Bulldogs), Frankie Mariano (Doncaster RL), Craig Borthwick, Lewis Clarke, Finn Hutchison, Craig Robertson (Edinburgh Eagles), Ben Kavanagh (Halifax RL), Will Oakes (Hull KR), Billy McConnachie (Ipswich Jets), Davey Dixon (Keighley Cougars), Nick Glohe (Lakes United RLFC), Sam Luckley (Newcastle Thunder), Matt Hogg (Newcastle University/Edinburgh Eagles), James Bell (New Zealand Warriors), Oscar Thomas (Sheffield Eagles), Murray Mitchell (Strathmore Silverbacks), Ryan Brierley (Toronto Wolfpack), Kane Bentley (Toulouse), Oliver Wilkes (Workington Town)

Wales squad: Dalton Grant (Bradford Bulls), Josh Ralph (Easts Tigers), Chester Butler, Connor Davies, Curtis Davies, Dan Fleming, Sion Jones (Halifax), Ben Evans, Elliot Kear, Rhys Williams (London Broncos), Elliott Jenkins (Rochdale Hornets), Gavin Bennion (Salford Red Devils), Ben Morris (St Helens), Mike Butt, Rhodri Lloyd (both Swinton Lions), Courtney Davies (unattached), James Olds (West Brisbane Panthers), Morgan Evans, Steve Parry (West Wales Raiders).

Top Stories

Elsewhere on the BBC