Johann Muller doubtful for Ulster's clash with Leinster

Johann Muller
Johann Muller was injured in Sunday's Heineken Cup defeat by Northampton

Johann Muller has been included in Ulster's squad for Saturday's Magners League clash against Leinster even though he is a fitness doubt.

Muller has a leg injury but he will be given more time to prove his fitness.

Conor Gaston, Tommy Seymour and Neil McComb return to the squad but Declan Fitzpatrick is ruled out by injury.

Ulster will be aiming for their seventh straight Magners League win although they were defeated in Sunday's Heineken Cup quarter-final by Northampton.

Brian McLaughlin's Ulster side have failed to win their last four Magners Leagueexternal-link games against Irish opposition.

Ulster back row Robbie Diack is confident the team can bounce back from Sunday's Heineken Cup exit by beating Leinster.

The 23-13 quarter-final defeat by Northampton means Ulster's sole target is making the Magners League play-offs.

"We still have a chance to achieve something special this season," said Diack.

"Reaching the play-offs is in our own hands and we know what we have to do."

Ulster lie second in the standings and go into Saturday's game at the RDS external-linkthree points ahead of fourth-placed Leinster.

He added: "We are still in with a shout of reaching the play-offs and we will keep our motivation and try to maintain the winning momentum that we had built up in the Magners League.

"The Leinster game is crucial for us - they are incredibly tough opponents, especially at home.

"They will be full of confidence after beating Leicester but we have confidence in our own ability.

"We've got to keep on improving and keep getting results."

Leinster: tbc

Ulster squad: Jerry Cronin, Tom Court, BJ Botha, Paddy McAllister, Bryan Young, Rory Best, Nigel Brady, Andi Kyriacou, Ryan Caldwell, Neil McComb, Dan Tuohy, Johann Muller, Tim Barker, Pedrie Wannenburg, TJ Anderson, Willie Faloon, Chris Henry, Robbie Diack, Ruan Pienaar, Paul Marshall, Ian Humphreys, Niall O'Connor, Ian Whitten, Nevin Spence, Paddy Wallace, Darren Cave, Andrew Trimble, Simon Danielli, Tommy Seymour, Craig Gilroy, Conor Gaston, Jamie Smith, Adam D'Arcy.

Top Stories