Magners League: Munster 22-6 Connacht

Simon Zebo (right) scores Munster's first-half try
Simon Zebo runs in Munster's first-half try at Thomond Park

Munster maintained their 100 per cent home record in the Magners League as they beat Connacht at Thomond Park.

Simon Zebo outfielded Gavin Duffy to score an early Munster try before two Ian Keatley kicks edged Connacht ahead.

But an Alan Quinlan try just before the break helped the home side move 12-6 helped by Ronan O'Gara's conversion.

O'Gara increased Munster's lead and after a Johnny O'Connor trip led to a Gavin Duffy try being ruled out, Doug Howlett added a late Munster try.

Munster's win sets up a semi-final clash next Saturday with the Ospreys at Thomond Park (1830 BST).

The home side rested several of their regulars and it was youngster Zebo who grabbed the table toppers' opening try in the sixth minute.

Johne Murphy fired a hopeful kick skyward and Connacht full-back Duffy looked certain to claim it, but Zebo was quickly in to rob him and sprint over unopposed in the left corner.

A great catch by Duffy helped set up an immediate opportunity for Keatley to reply but the fly-half's penalty hit the woodwork.

Keatley opened Connacht's account in the 30th minute after a Quinlan infringement and the number 10 kicked the visitors in front six minutes later.

But Munster got back on top before the break as Quinlan crashed over after a well-constructed forward drive.

O'Gara added the conversion and then tucked away a further penalty straight after the restart.

Keatley missed a 53rd-minute penalty and Duffy's try was cancelled out after O'Connor's earlier indiscretion was spotted by assistant referee John Carvill.

As Connacht continued to press, Sean Cronin went close but the Munster defence held firm and Howlett's late try after a clever chip over the defence by Paul Warwick, sealed the home team's win.

Munster: F Jones; D Howlett, J Murphy, D Barnes, S Zebo; R O'Gara, T O'Leary; M Horan, M Sherry, J Hayes; D Ryan, P O'Connell (capt); A Quinlan, N Ronan, D Leamy.

Replacements: P Warwick for Jones 73, D Hurley for Zebo 58, P Stringer for O'Leary 51, W du Preez for Horan 54, S Archer for Hayes 61, I Nagle for A Quinlan 73,

Connacht: G Duffy; B Tuohy, E Griffin, M Nikora, F Carr; I Keatley, F Murphy; B Wilkinson, S Cronin, J Hagan, M McCarthy, B Upton; A Browne, J O'Connor (capt), J Muldoon.

Replacements: A Flavin, R Loughney, D Rogers, D Nolan, M McComish, C Willis, T Nathan, T O'Halloran.