Lewis Robling handed Wales Under-20s debut

Richard Webster
Richard Webster took over the head coach duties from Darren Edwards

Dragons centre Lewis Robling will make his Under-20s debut in Wales' opening Junior World Championship clash with Argentina on Friday.

Robling, 19, is one of only three changes from the side that played France in the Six Nations in March.

Thomas Young is ruled out after sustaining a foot injury in training to be replaced by Luke Hamilton.

Wing Eli Walker makes his first U20s start since missing the win over Scotland in February.

"Lewis has done very well since coming into the squad for Adam Warren," said coach Richard Webster.

"He is a skilful ball player and that's what we want at 12, another passing and kicking option.

"The boys have settled in well since arriving on Monday, enjoying a couple of good training sessions, despite the torrential rain all week."

Webster added: "We are pleased with the strength of the side we've been able to select for this game.

"It's important we get off to a good start in our opening game, or we will make things very difficult for ourselves further on in the competition.

"We have watched some footage of Argentina now and as expected, they are a very physical side but we don't want to get dragged into their style of play.

"We want to concentrate on our own game plan and play some running rugby, weather permitting."

Wales were forced to make two late changes to their squad when Warren (hamstring) and wing Harry Robinson (ankle) were ruled out.

They were relaced with Rheon James (Carmarthen Quins) and Ross James (Bridgend) respectively.

After the Argentina clash Wales take on defending champions New Zealand in Rovigo on Tuesday, 14 June (1710 BST) followed by hosts Italy in Treviso on Saturday, 18 June (1710 BST).

The winners of the three groups and the best runner-up advance to the semi-finals.

Wales: Steve Shingler (London Irish); Liam Williams (Llanelli), Owen Williams (Blues/Cardiff), Lewis Robling (Dragons/Newport), Eli Walker (Ospreys/Swansea); Matthew Morgan (Ospreys/Swansea), Jonathan Evans (Dragons/Newport); Rhodri Jones (Scarlets/Llanelli), Kirby Myhill (Scarlets/Llanelli), Will Taylor (Ospreys/Swansea), Macauley Cook (capt, Blues/Cardiff), Cory Hill (Blues/Pontypridd), Edward Siggery (Pontypridd), Luke Hamilton (Blues/G Wanderers), Ben Thomas (Ospreys/Bridgend).

Replacements: Lewis Smout (Blues/Pontypridd), WillGriff John (Blues/Pontypridd), Lloyd Peers (Ospreys/Bridgend), Owen Sheppeard (Blues/Pontypridd), Lewis Jones (Pontypridd), Rheon James (Scarlets/Carmarthen Quins), Iolo Evans (Scarlets/Llanelli).

Top Stories