Ricky Januarie quits Boks World Cup bid

South Africa celebrate their 2007 triumph
South Africa celebrate their 15-6 win against England in Paris in 2007

Former Ospreys scrum-half Ricky Januarie has quit international rugby and ruled himself out of South Africa's World Cup defence.

Januarie joined the Ospreys on a short-term contract in the 2009-10 season amid an injury crisis and was named in the Springboks' preliminary 49-man World Cup squad.

He has instead signed for new French Top 14 club Lyon from the Stormers.

Wales' Pool rivals have 21 2007 tournament winners in their squad.

At Lyon 29-year-old Januarie will be a team-mate of Welsh playmaker Lee Thomas.

Coach Peter de Villiers's squad includes uncapped props Dean Greyling, Werner Kruger and Coenie Oosthuizen, fly-half Elton Jantjies, and back-rowers Ashley Johnson and Duane Vermeulen.

Ulster's Johann Muller, Ruan Pienaar and BJ Botha join Francois Steyn (Racing Metro) as overseas picks.

Wales face South Africa on Sunday 11 September at Wellington and go on to play Samoa, Namibia and Fiji in Pool D with a place in the quarter-finals the aim for Warren Gatland's men.

The Springboks will also base their forthcoming Tri-Nations campaign on the preliminary World Cup squad, with coach De Villiers saying: "We have got a good blend of youth and experience as well as including some uncapped players who have forced their way into contention for selection with their performances in Super rugby."

De Villiers names his 30-man squad for the tournament in New Zealand on 23 August.


Backs: Gio Aplon, Jaque Fourie, Bryan Habana, Juan de Jongh, Jean de Villiers (all Western Stormers), Bjorn Basson, Francois Hougaard, Zane Kirchner, Wynand Olivier, Fourie du Preez, Morne Steyn (all Northern Bulls), Adrian Jacobs, Patrick Lambie, Lwazi Mvovo, Odwa Ndungane, JP Pietersen (all Coastal Sharks), Butch James, Elton Jantjies (both Golden Lions), Ruan Pienaar (Ulster/NIR), Francois Steyn (Racing Metro).

Forwards: Willem Alberts, Alistair Hargreaves, Ryan Kankowski, Tendai Mtawarira, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, John Smit (capt) (all Sharks), Andries Bekker, Schalk Burger, Francois Louw, Duane Vermeulen (all Stormers), Bakkies Botha, Dean Greyling, Werner Kruger, Victor Matfield (vice-capt), Flip van der Merwe, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Danie Rossouw, Pierre Spies, Gurthro Steenkamp, Deon Stegmann (all Bulls), BJ Botha, Johann Muller (both Ulster), Heinrich Brussow, Ashley Johnson, Coenie Oosthuizen, Juan Smith, Adriaan Strauss (all Central Cheetahs).