Scarlets prop Deacon Manu to captain Fiji at World Cup

Deacon Manu (right) celebrates Fiji's draw with Wales in November 2010
Fiji secured a 16-16 draw against Wales in the last meeting between the sides

Scarlets prop Deacon Manu will lead Fiji at the 2011 Rugby World Cup.

Fiji will face Wales, South Africa, Samoa and Namibia in Pool D at the tournament in New Zealand, which starts on 9 September.

Nine Fiji-based players have been included in the 30-man squad, including lock Leone Nakarawa.

The 23-year-old has resigned from the Fiji's army to secure a visa to enter New Zealand, who have barred Fijian soldiers from entry since 2006.

New Zealand Foreign Minister Murray McCully announced on Friday that the ban on Nakarawa entering the country had been lifted following his resignation.

Nakarawa, who plays for Fiji's capital side Suva, had been omitted from the side that travelled to New Zealand last month for a Test against the All Blacks.

Akapusi Qera, who scored the first try as Fiji dumped Wales out of the 2007 World Cup, is also included, so too Seremaia Bai, who landed a last-gasp penalty to snatch a 16-16 draw in the most recent meeting in November 2010.

The two nations will meet again in Hamilton on 2 October in the final Pool D match. Fiji's World Cup campaign begins against Namibia on 10 September.

Manu's side lost their final warm-up game to Tonga on Friday, but won the two-match series after Nakarawa's try in the final play of the game swung the points difference back in Fiji's favour.


Forwards: Campese Ma'afu (Eastern Suburbs), Deacon Manu (captain, Scarlets), Setefano Somoca (Sigatoka Bulls), Waisea Daveta (Gau), Viliame Veikoso (Nadi), Tuapati Talemaitoga (Woodlands), Sunia Koto (Narbonne), Seko Kalou (Kaikorai), Leone Nakarawa (Suva), Wame Lewaravu (Sale Sharks), Rupeni Nasiga (Nadroga), Dominiko Waqaniburotu (Fraser Tech), Sisa Koyamaibole (Sale Sharks), Akapusi Qera (Gloucester), Netani Talei (Edinburgh), Masi Matadigo (Montpellier), Malakai Ravulo (North Harbour).

Backs: Nemia Ranuku (Nadroga), Vitori Buatava (Zhermack Badia), Waisea Luveniyali (London Welsh), Seremaia Bai (Castres), Nicky Little (Bristol), Albert Vulivuli (Racing Metro), Gabirieli Lovobalavu (Toulon), Ravai Fatiaki (Worcester Warriors), Vereniki Goneva (Colomiers), Napolioni Nalaga (Nadroga), Michael Tagicakibau (Saracens), Kini Murimurivalu (Clermont), Iliesa Keresoni (Perigueux).

Top Stories