Rugby World Cup 2011: South Africa 87-0 Namibia

Bryan Habana scores
Bryan Habana sets a Springboks try-scoring record of 39

Bryan Habana set a new South Africa try-scoring record as they overwhelmed Namibia at North Harbour Stadium.

Habana overtook former scrum-half Joost van der Westhuizen's mark of 38 with a 22nd-minute touchdown.

That helped ensure the Springboks a bonus-point Pool D win.

Gio Aplon (2), Jaque Fourie, Frans Steyn, Morne Steyn, Juan de Jongh (2), Francois Hougaard (2) and Danie Rossouw all touched down, and the Springboks also earned a penalty try.

Peter de Villiers' side were 31-0 ahead at the break as Aplon, Habana and Fourie played their part in breaking down their neighbours' resistance, the penalty try from a scrum adding to Namibia's problems.

No matter how hard they tried in the second period, Nambia just could not respond to the power and pace of the defending champions, who set their new points record for a World Cup contest.

In the process Habana's 15-month wait to set the new Springbok try-scoring mark came to an end.

His scoring pass came from lock Rossouw after a turnover on half-way.

The only worry for South Africa was the sight of Rossouw's partner Bakkie Botha limping off after 50 minutes having already suffered an Achilles scare during the tournament.

Fly-half Morne Steyn kicked an early penalty and six conversions. His 62nd-minute replacement, Ruan Pienaar, kicked six more conversions, giving the Springboks a 100% success rate from kicks at goal.

Wales will also be hoping to post a bonus-point win when they face bottom-placed Namibia in New Plymouth on Monday.

South Africa: Lambie; Aplon, Fourie, F Steyn, Habana; M Steyn, Hougaard; Steenkamp, Smit, van der Linde, Botha, Rossouw, Alberts, Burger, Spies.

Replacements: de Jongh for F Steyn (62), Pienaar for M Steyn (62), Mtawarira for Steenkamp (62), Ralepelle for van der Linde (50), Louw for Botha (50), Brussow for Spies (79).

Not Used: du Preez.

Namibia: Botha; Dames, D van Wyk, van Zyl, Bock; Kotze, Jantjies; Redelinghuys, O'Callaghan, Visser, Koll, Esterhuyse, Du Plessis, Burger, Nieuwenhuis.

Replacements: D de la Harpe for Dames (69), Marais for Bock (46), R de la Harpe for Jantjies (69), Horn for O'Callaghan (43), du Toit for Visser (40), van Lill for Koll (54), Kitshoff for Nieuwenhuis (55).

Att: 25,000

Ref: George Clancy (IRFU).

Top Stories