Rugby World Cup 2011 Pool A: New Zealand 79-15 Canada

Zac Guildford
Guildford scored four tries in a comprehensive victory

New Zealand responded to the loss of injured outside-half Dan Carter with a trouble-free 12-try win over Canada.

If the All Blacks are to win this tournament they will have to do so without the influential Carter, who sustained a groin injury in training.

They did not miss him in Wellington as they raced to a 37-8 half-time lead, with Zac Guildford completing a first-half hat-trick.

Six more tries followed ahead of next Sunday's quarter-final with Argentina.

The tournament favourites completed this comfortable win without star duo Carter and Richie McCaw, who withdrew from the game because of a niggling foot injury, although his injury is not thought to be as serious as Carter's.

Carter's replacement Colin Slade could not have wished for a better introduction as his team scored six tries in the first half, with the video referee deeming Guildford had gone over in the corner for the first in the 10th minute.

McCaw's replacement Victor Vito, Israel Dagg and Mills Muliaina all crossed the line, with Slade converting two for a commanding lead.

Canada finished the half with a well-worked try for Conor Trainor and the winger took advantage of a poor pass by scrum-half Jimmy Cowan to score a breakaway try in the opening minutes of the second half.

But even then Trainor's second try had the air of a consolation as New Zealand responded immediately with a try from Cowan. Further tries from Jerome Kaino, who crossed the whitewash twice, the impressive Sonny Bill Williams and Guildford completed the scoring.

New Zealand: M Muliaina, I Dagg, C Smith, SB Williams, Z Guildford, C Slade, J Cowan; T Woodcock, A Hore (capt), O Franks, S Whitelock, A Williams, J Kaino, V Vito, K Read. Replacements: Toeava for Dagg (47), Weepu for Muliaina (51), Boric for Read (51), B Franks for O Franks (56), Ellis for Cowan (62). Not Used: Mealamu, Thorn.

Canada: Evans, Trainor, van der Merwe, Smith, P Mackenzie, Monro, Fairhurst, Buydens, Riordan, Marshall, Sinclair, Cudmore, Kleeberger, O'Toole, Carpenter. Replacements: Dala for Evans (64), White for van der Merwe (30), Hamilton for Riordan (47), Franklin for Marshall (52), Hirayama for Fairhurst (63), Tiedemann for Buydens (63), Hotson for Cudmore (63), Dala for Evans (64).

Att: 30,000

Ref: Romain Poite (France).