RaboDirect Pro 12: Munster v Scarlets (Sat)

Dan Evans
Dan Evans has won two Wales international caps

Scarlets have made four changes to the side who lost at Connacht last weekend as they seek to secure their first win in Ireland since January 2009.

Coach Nigel Davies, hands 19-year-old full-back Dale Ford a start at 15. Andy Fenby and Kirby Myhill start at wing and hooker respectively.

Emyr Phillips drops to the bench, while Lou Reed comes back to the second row alongside Dominic Day.

League Champions Munster have won the last 11 encounters between the sides.

The Irish region, who have won their last 12 games at Musgrave Park since a defeat by Glasgow in May 2008, are on a record 12-match winning league run.

Full-back Dan Evans (broken hand) joins captain Matthew Rees (neck surgery) on the Scarlets injury list.

The Welsh region have not beaten Munster since knocking the two-time European champions out of the Heineken Cup quarter-finals at the old Stradey Park in March 2007.

"We've always done well against Munster although we haven't been successful there for a long time," said Scarlets head coach Nigel Davies.

"And it's about time we changed that.

"It is a big ask but is one I think we're capable of answering, especially with the pack of forwards we have got.

"Our back-line is young and is developing. And the quicker we accelerate their development then the better position we will be in to go to places like Munster and win games.

"We know it will be tough in Munster but why not? Part of the pre-season has been about mind-set of being able to go to places like Munster and believing that we can win."

Scarlets face a tough challenge against a Munster side who have over 700 caps in their pack while scrum-half Peter Stringer is set to earn his 220th cap.

Team news:

Munster: J Murphy; D Howlett, T Gleeson, L Mafi, D Hurley; I Keatley, P Stringer; M Horan, M Sherry, J Hayes; D Foley, M O'Driscoll; P O'Mahony, N Ronan, J Coughlan.

Replacements: N Brady, P McAllister, A Macklin, N McComb, M McComish, I Porter, P Jackson, A D'Arcy

Scarlets: Dale Ford; Lee Williams, Rhodri Gomer Davies, Gareth Maule, Andy Fenby; Dan Newton, Ruki Tipuna; Iestyn Thomas, Kirby Myhill, Rhys Thomas, Lou Reed, Dominic Day, Rob McCusker, Josh Turnbull, Ben Morgan.

Replacements: Emyr Phillips, Phil John, Rhodri Jones, Aaron Shingler, Johnathan Edwards, Gareth Davies, Aled Thomas, Lee Rees.

Referee: Andy Macpherson (SRU)

Assistant Referees: Dudley Phillips, Kevin Beggs (IRFU)

Citing Commissioner: Gordon Black (IRFU)

TMO: Jude Quinn (IRFU)

Top Stories