Rugby World Cup 2011: News round-up


Third-place play-off and final: Eden Park, Auckland
Third-place play-off: Fri, 21 Oct: Final: Sun, 23 Oct
Final: 0900 BST / 2100 NZ; Third-place play-off: 0830
Live text commentary, scores and report on BBC website; updates on BBC Radio 5 live; watch live on ITV1, live commentary on TalkSport radio
Jonah Lomu
Lomu is the Rugby World Cup's all-time leading try scorer with 15 tries

A round-up of the latest news, views and gossip from the Rugby World Cup in New Zealand.

New Zealand legend Jonah Lomu stunned Australia's players by dropping in on a training session ahead of their World Cup third-place play-off match against Wales. Lomu, 36, who was recently discharged from hospital after being admitted with kidney failure, mingled with the players and lifted the spirits of a Wallaby camp all but inconsolable after their semi-final defeat by the All Blacks on Sunday.

Australia coach Robbie Deans sympathises with Wales counterpart Warren Gatland, who stirred a World Cup controversy by admitting he considered asking a prop to fake an injury to force uncontested scrums in last weekend's semi-finals. Asked if he would ever considered a similar idea, Deans replied: "I haven't, but I've been accused of it. If I was in Warren's shoes... I can understand his frustration."

The International Rugby Board has deferred the election of its chairman and vice-chairman positions until December. Former England captain and current IRB vice-chairman Bill Beaumont was due to stand against incumbent chairman Bernard Lapasset at Wednesday's IRB Council meeting in Auckland but the meeting has been now been adjourned until December. An election has to be held before 1 January 2012.

France captain Thierry Dusautoir is the only northern hemisphere representative on a shortlist for the IRB player of the year award that includes three New Zealanders and two Australians. Scrum-half Piri Weepu, flanker Jerome Kaino and centre Ma'a Nonu, flanker David Pocock and scrum-half Will Genia are all on the list. The winner will be announced on Monday.

Top Stories