Anthony Fainga'a replaces injured Rob Horne in Australia side

Rob Horne
Horne made his Test debut against Fiji in 2010

Centre Rob Horne has withdrawn from the Australia team to face Wales in Cardiff due to a hamstring injury.

The NSW Waratahs player failed to come through a training session and his place will be taken by Queensland Reds centre Anthony Fainga'a.

Fainga'a's spot among the replacements has been taken by Melbourne Rebels scrum-half Nick Phipps.

James O'Connor will make his first Test start at fly-half for the Wallabies in Saturday's clash.

The 21-year-old is normally a wing but stays at 10 after his performance there in last weekend's non-cap 60-11 win over the Barbarians at Twickenham.

World Cup fly-half Quade Cooper is injured, but centre Berrick Barnes has recovered from a blow to his back to start in midfield.

Ben Lucas and Ben Tapuai are in line to make their Test debuts off the bench.

Lock Rob Simmons replaces Nathan Sharpe, who is among the replacements, in the only change in the pack from when the countries last met in the World Cup bronze medal match in October, when Australia won 21-18.

Simmons will partner captain James Horwill at lock, as the Queensland Red is restored to the starting line-up after being given a 30-minute cameo off the bench at Twickenham last Saturday.

Australia coach Robbie Deans says that opposite number Warren Gatland will be looking to turn the tables after their World Cup meeting.

"Warren will be looking for his group to push on from the World Cup and this match provides him with a perfect opportunity to do just that as a springboard heading into the next Six Nations," Deans said.

Team details:

Wales: Leigh Halfpenny (Cardiff Blues); George North (Scarlets), Scott Williams (Scarlets), Jamie Roberts (Cardiff Blues), Shane Williams (Ospreys); Rhys Priestland (Scarlets), Lloyd Williams (Blues); Gethin Jenkins (Blues), Huw Bennett (Ospreys), Scott Andrews (Blues), Bradley Davies (Blues), Ian Evans (Ospreys), Dan Lydiate (Newport Gwent Dragons), Sam Warburton (Blues, capt), Toby Faletau (Dragons).

Replacements: Matthew Rees (Scarlets), Ryan Bevington (Ospreys), Ryan Jones (Ospreys), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys), Tavis Knoyle (Scarlets), Dan Biggar (Ospreys), Alex Cuthbert (Blues).

Australia: Adam Ashley-Cooper (NSW Waratahs); Lachie Turner (NSW Waratahs), Anthony Fainga'a (Queensland Reds), Berrick Barnes (NSW Waratahs), Digby Ioane (Queensland Reds); James O'Connor (Melbourne Rebels), Will Genia (Queensland Reds); James Slipper (Queensland Reds), Tatafu Polota Nau (NSW Waratahs), Salesi Ma'afu (Western Force), James Horwill (Queensland Reds, capt), Rob Simmons (Queensland Reds), Scott Higginbotham (Queensland Reds), David Pocock (Western Force), Ben McCalman (Western Force).

Replacements: Stephen Moore (Brumbies), Ben Alexander (Brumbies), Nathan Sharpe (Western Force), Radike Samo (Queensland Reds), Ben Lucas (Queensland Reds), Ben Tapuai (Queensland Reds), Nick Phipps (Melbourne Rebels).