Rachel Taylor set to skipper Wales women

Rachel Taylor
Rachel Taylor fought back from an injury sustained at the 2009 World Cup

Cardiff Quins back-row forward Rachel Taylor will captain Wales' Women squad in their 2012 Six Nations campaign.

Taylor, who replaces the unavailable prop Catrin Edwards, is in head coach Rhys Edwards' 28-strong squad that includes seven uncapped players.

Fowards Megan York, Nia Jones and Nia Davies join backs Rhianydd Morgan, Rosie Fletcher, Rebecca De Filippo and Phillipa Tuttiett in the squad.

"It's going to be a huge season for us," said Edwards.

"But our focus has first got to be our first game away to Ireland," explained Edwards.

Wales open their Six Nations campaign in Dublin but will play their first game at the Millennium Stadium when they host Italy.

"Playing at the Millennium Stadium is a huge opportunity for the team to play at the home of Welsh rugby in one of the best stadiums in the world," added Edwards.

Wales Women Six Nations squad:

Forwards: Jenny Davies, Megan York, Nia Jones, Caryl Thomas, Lowri Harries, Rhian Bowden, Shona Powell Hughes, Vicky Owens, Rachel Taylor (c), Lisa Newton, Nia Davies, Sioned Harries, Jamie Kift, Clare Flowers, Sian Williams.

Backs: Amy Day, Laura Prosser, Naomi Thomas, Elen Evans, Rebecca De Filippo, Ceri Redman, Phillipa Tuttiett, Charlie Murray, Caryl James, Rhianydd Morgan, Mared Evans, Aimee Young, Rosie Fletcher.