RaboDirect Pro 12: Aironi 20-6 Connacht

Dylan Rogers and Luciano Orquera
Connacht's Dylan Rogers is tackled by Luciano Orquera in Italy

Connacht fell to their 13th consecutive defeat in all competitions as they were well beaten by Aironi in a dismal Pro12 clash in Italy.

Aironi led 9-0 after a scrappy first half with fly-half Luciano Orquera kicking three penalties in Viadana.

Sinoti Sinoti try put the game emphatically beyond Connacht's reach with Qrquera adding two further penalties for the home side.

Matthew Jarvis and Niall O'Connor kicked second-half Connacht penalties.

The win earned bottom club Aironi their third win in this year's Pro12 while Connacht dire run of form continues after their promising start to the season.

Connacht drop to 11th place in the 12-team table and they are now only three points ahead of Aironi.

The Italians moved into the lead after four minutes when Orquera slotted a penalty before he extended the lead in similar fashion seven minutes later.

Connacht's Jarvis missed the chance to close the gap on the quarter-hour with a penalty chance before Orquera successfully kicked his attempt to give Aironi a 9-0 lead at half time.

Samoan winger Sinoti crossed two minutes after the break to extend the home side's advantage, with Orquera this time missing the conversion, before he rediscovered his range five minutes later as Aironi stretched to a 17-0 lead.

Fly-half Jarvis finally put some points on the board for the Irish province with a successful penalty kick, before he was replaced by Niall O'Connor, who traded another penalty with Orquera before the finish.

Aironi: A Masi; G Toniolatti, R Quartaroli, G Pizarro, S Sinoti; L Orquera, T Keats; A De Marchi, R Santamaria, F Staibano; J Furno, Marco Bortolami, N Cattina; S Favaro, J Sole.

Replacements: A Benettinuts for Quartaroli 74, N Olivier for Orquera 66, T Tebaldi for Keats 66, M Bergamasco for Favaro 67, Q Geldenhuys for Furno 41, T D'Apice for Santamaria 68, S Perugini for A De Marchi 67.

Not Used: L Romano.

Connacht: G Duffy (capt); F Vainikolo, K Tonetti, D McSharry, T O'Halloran; M Jarvis, F Murphy; B Wilkinson, A Flavin, D Rogers; M Swift, M McCarthy; M Kearney, J Muldoon, G Naoupu

Replacements: H Fa'afili for McSharry 57, N O'Connor for Jarvis 50, E McKeown for Muldoon 67, P O'Donoghue for Murphy 67, R Ofisa for Kearney 53, E Reynecke for Flavin 41, D Buckley for Wilkinson 57.

Not used: S Maguire

Top Stories