England Women hammer Wales to maintain unbeaten run

England's Women ran in six tries in a convincing win over Wales in the Six Nations on Saturday, maintaining their hopes of a seventh successive title.

Wales were the last team to defeat England in the tournament but their hopes of repeating their 2009 victory evaporated in the second half.

Michaela Staniford ran in two tries, Emily Scarrett, Rowena Burnfield, Kay Wilson and Sarah Hunter also crossing.

"Wales made us work hard for this," acknowledged England coach Gary Street.

Street's side have conceded just three points so far in a campaign that has also featured wins over Scotland and Italy.

Wales restricted England to two tries and a penalty in the first half, with the half-time score just 13-0.

"At half-time we spoke about improving our discipline, to stop giving away so many penalties and to be more patient. When we started to do that the points came," Street explained.

England's next match is at Stade Charlety in Paris on Sunday 11 March (1245 GMT KO), against a France outfit who beat Ireland 8-7 in their last Six Nations fixture. Both sides are unbeaten in this year's competition.

Wales host Italy at the Millennium Stadium the day before (1700 K0), after the men's game. The Italians are currently propping up the table after losing 40-10 to Ireland on Friday.

England Women: 15 Natasha Hunt (Lichfield), 14 Kay Wilson (Bristol), 13 Emily Scarratt (Lichfield), 12 Rachael Burford (Richmond), 11 Michaela Staniford (Wasps), 10 Katy McLean (capt - Darlington Mowden Park Sharks), 9 La Toya Mason (Wasps); 1 Laura Keates (Worcester), 2 Victoria Fleetwood (Lichfield), 3 Sophie Hemming (Bristol), 4 Rowena Burnfield (Richmond), 5 Tamara Taylor (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks), 6 Hannah Gallagher (Saracens), 7 Marlie Packer (Bristol), 8 Harriet Millar-Mils (Lichfield).

Replacements: 16 Amy Turner (Richmond), 17 Rochelle Clark (Worcester), 18 Margaret Alphonsi (Saracens), 19 Sarah Hunter (Lichfield), 20 Georgina Rozario (Lichfield), 21 Ceri Large (Worcester), 22 Kimberley Oliver (Bristol)

Wales Women: 15 Rosie Fletcher (Neath Athletic/Ospreys), 14 Charlie Murray (Cross Keys), 13 Adi Taviner (Neath Athletic), 12 Rebecca De Filippo (Neath Athletic/Scarlets), 11 Caryl James (Cardiff Quins), 10 Naomi Thomas (Cross Keys), 9 Amy Day (Cross Keys); 1 Caryl Thomas (Bath Ladies),2 Rhian Bowden (Cross Keys/Dragons), 3 Jenny Davies (Waterloo), 4 Vicky Owens (UWIC), 5 Shona Powell-Hughes (Neath Athletic), 6 Sioned Harries (UWIC), 7 Rachel Taylor (capt - Cardiff Quins), 8 Jamie Kift (Cross Keys).

Replacements: 16 Lowri Harries (UWIC), 17 Megan York (Bleanau Gwent/Dragons), 18 Clare Flowers (Bristol), 19 Lisa Newton (UWIC), 20 Laura Prosser (Pontyclun), 21 Mared Evans (UWIC), 22 Phillippa Tuttiett (Cardiff Quins)

Top Stories