Six Nations: England will attack Wales, says Robshaw

England captain Chris Robshaw

England captain Chris Robshaw hopes to treat the Twickenham faithful to a "much improved" attacking game against Wales on Saturday.

England won their first two Six Nations matches but without setting the tournament alight with their play.

"We know our performances weren't perfect but we've really worked on that," said flanker Robshaw.

"We always knew going up to Scotland and away to Rome that it was all about getting the win, first and foremost."

England have narrowly beaten Scotland and Italy so far under the stewardship of interim coach Stuart Lancaster but only managed two tries in the process - both charge-down scores by fly-half Charlie Hodgson, who misses the Wales game through injury.

Most of England's points have come from the boot of Owen Farrell, who starts his first international game at fly-half against the Welsh.

England assistant coach Andy Farrell, Owen's father, added that returning centre Manu Tuilagi, who missed England's first two games with a hamstring injury, is desperate to make an impression.

He said: "He's super keen to get back to playing. He's had a bit of a stop-start season as far as injuries are concerned, and for any young lad I think that's very frustrating.

"He's had two games [for Leicester] to get his match fitness back [and] he needed those two games to get his confidence back.

"In Test match football you need to be fit and confident that you can perform in the arena, and Manu is certainly ready for that step now."


England: 15-Ben Foden, 14-Chris Ashton, 13-Manu Tuilagi, 12-Brad Barritt, 11-David Strettle, 10-Owen Farrell, 9-Lee Dickson; 1 Alex Corbisiero, 2-Dylan Hartley, 3-Dan Cole, 4-Mouritz Botha, 5-Geoff Parling, 6-Tom Croft, 7-Chris Robshaw, 8-Ben Morgan.

Replacements: 16-Rob Webber, 17-Matt Stevens, 18-Courtney Lawes, 19-Phil Dowson, 20-Ben Youngs, 21-Toby Flood, 22-Mike Brown

Wales: 15-Leigh Halfpenny, 14-Alex Cuthbert, 13-Jonathan Davies, 12-Jamie Roberts, 11-George North, 10-Rhys Priestland, 9-Mike Phillips; 1-Gethin Jenkins, 2-Ken Owens, 3-Adam Jones, 4-Alun Wyn Jones, 5-Ian Evans, 6-Dan Lydiate, 7-Sam Warburton, 8-Toby Faletau.

Replacements: 16-Richard Hibbard, 17-Paul James, 18-Ryan Jones, 19-Justin Tipuric, 20-Lloyd Williams, 21-Stephen Jones, 22-Scott Williams.


Referee: Steve Walsh

Touch judges: Peter Fitzgibbon, Pascale Gauzere

TV: Iain Ramage

Top Stories