Dylan Hartley returns to England squad for Barbarians clash

Dylan Hartley
Dylan Hartley

Dylan Hartley will return from an eight-week ban for biting when England face the Barbarians on 27 May.

Northampton hooker Hartley was suspended after an incident involving Stephen Ferris in England's 30-9 Six Nations victory over Ireland in March.

After facing the Barbarians, England head to South Africa for a five-match tour that includes three Tests.

Mike Tindall is in the Baa-Baas squad for the first time as they face England, Ireland and Wales.

England coach Stuart Lancaster has selected Freddie Burns, Jamie Gibson, Haydn Thomas and Richard Wigglesworth, who are not in the touring party for South Africa.

The 27-man squad does not include any players from Leicester or Harlequins, who face each other in the Premiership final the previous day.

The Barbarians begin their tour against England at Twickenham on 27 May, play Ireland two days later at Kingsholm and Wales in Cardiff on 2 June.

Former England captain Tindall, 33, was fined £25,000 in November and removed from England's Elite Player Squad after off-the-field issues at the World Cup.

He was later reinstated to the Elite Player Squad and had his fine reduced to £15,000 on appeal, but he has not featured for England since then.

Lancaster admitted that situation is likely to continue but expects Tindall to be in the mood to make an impression.

The England coach said: "It is great that he is playing. I am sure Mike has got a lot to prove by playing at Twickenham and I think it is great that he has the opportunity to do that again.

Asked whether it was unlikely that he would pick Tindall, Lancaster said: "I think the way we are going in terms of our squad, and trying to pick a group of players towards 2015, yes."

Johnnie Beattie is the other Scot named in the Barbarians squad, giving him a first taste of Baa-Baas rugby. It comes at the end of a difficult season for the 26-year-old number eight, who lost his place in Andy Robinson's national squad and played a peripheral role for Glasgow Warriors this season.

Scotland scrum-half Rory Lawson, who is among the debutants behind the scrum, underwent surgery for a groin problem in March, missing the end of the Six Nations campaign.

Prop Duncan Jones is another new face in the squad and is among three Welshmen lined up to face their country. Jones joins fellow Osprey Shane Williams and London Wasps-bound Stephen Jones in the squad.

Samoa pair Sailosi Tagicakibau and Eliota Fuimaono-Sapolu are also set to make their Barbarians bows. Up front, John Afoa, Juan Manuel Leguizamon and Mick O'Driscoll are also new names in the set-up.

There are a plethora of southern hemisphere stars in the invitational side, coached by former Italy and Japan boss John Kirwan. They include former New Zealand full-back Mils Muliaina, South Africa's World Cup-winning captain John Smit and Leinster's Fijian back Isa Nacewa.

England squad

Backs - C Ashton (Northampton), B Barritt (Saracens), F Burns (Gloucester), L Dickson (Northampton), O Farrell (Saracens), B Foden (Northampton), A Goode (Saracens), C Hodgson (Saracens), J Joseph (London Irish), D Strettle (Saracens), H Thomas (Exeter), C Wade (Wasps), R Wigglesworth (Saracens).

Forwards - M Botha (Saracens), A Corbisiero (London Irish), P Doran-Jones (Northampton), P Dowson (Northampton), C Fearns (Bath), J Gibson (London Irish), D Hartley (Northampton), T Johnson (Exeter), J Launchbury (Wasps), L Mears (Bath), B Morgan (Scarlets), M Mullan (Worcester), T Palmer (Stade Francais), M Stevens (Saracens).

Barbarians squad

Backs - I Nacewa (Fiji), M Muliaina (New Zealand), I Balshaw (England), C Heymans (France), S Williams (Wales), P Sackey (England), S Tagicakibau (Samoa), E Fuimaono-Sapolu (Samoa), M Tindall (England), D Traille (France), F Contepomi (Argentina), S Donald (New Zealand), S Jones (Wales), R Lawson (Scotland), J Fillol (France).

Forwards - S Brits (South Africa), B August (France), J Smit (South Africa), A de Malmanche (New Zealand), J Afoa (New Zealand), D Jones (Wales), B J Botha (South Africa), N Tialata (New Zealand), J Thion (France), M O'Driscoll (Ireland), A van Zyl (South Africa), P Taele (Samoa), R Lakafia (France), A Burban (France), A Qera (Fiji), J Beattie (Scotland), P Wannenburg (South Africa), JM Leguizamon (Argentina).