Ireland call up Ulster duo for New Zealand tour

Paul Marshall and Chris Henry

Ulster duo Paul Marshall and Chris Henry are among five players added to the Ireland squad for the three-match Test series in New Zealand.

Marshall replaces injury scrum-half Isaac Boss with Henry included after recovering from an ankle injury.

Paul O'Connell remains a doubt because of a knee injury so Connacht's Mike McCarthy is added as cover.

Uncapped Connacht props Brett Wilkinson and Ronan Loughney are also included amid doubts over Mike Ross' fitness.

Leinster star Ross is currently recovering from a hamstring injury while Tom Court's unavailability because of injury also opened the door to the Connacht duo.

A final decision on O'Connell's fitness will be made on Friday.

Stephen Ferris was ruled out of the tour on Saturday with Kevin McLaughlin drafted into the squad.

Flanker Ferris sustained a calf injury during the Heineken Cup final defeat by Leinster earlier this month.

Boss had been ruled out of the tour because of a thigh injury and Marshall was confirmed as his replacement after coming on for his Ireland debut in the closing stages of Tuesday's defeat by the Barbarians at Kingsholm.

Ireland coach Declan Kidney had already named uncapped trio Ulster prop Declan Fitzpatrick, Munster hooker Mike Sherry and winger Simon Zebo for the Test series.

Ireland will play world champions New Zealand in Auckland on 9 June, with Tests in Christchurch and Hamilton to follow on 16 and 23 June.

Ireland squad

Forwards: Rory Best, Sean Cronin, Declan Fitzpatrick, Cian Healy, Jamie Heaslip, Kevin McLaughlin, Sean O'Brien, Donncha O'Callaghan, Peter O'Mahony, Mike Ross, Donnacha Ryan, Mike Sherry, Dan Tuohy, Chris Henry, Mike McCarthy, Ronan Loughney, Brett Wilkinson.

Backs: Darren Cave, Gordon D'Arcy, Keith Earls, Rob Kearney, Fergus McFadden, Conor Murray, Brian O'Driscoll, Ronan O'Gara, Eoin Reddan, Jonathan Sexton, Andrew Trimble, Simon Zebo, Paul Marshall.

Top Stories