Australia v Wales: Alun Wyn Jones tells Wales seize Brumbies chance

Wales lock Alun Wyn Jones

Alun Wyn Jones has told Wales' midweek side that second Test places may be the reward for good displays in Tuesday's tour game against the Brumbies.

The Ospreys second-row to the side that lost the in Brisbane on Saturday.

Only Jones' lock partner Luke Charteris keeps his place in the starting XV.

"[This game] has probably taken a little more significance now after the loss in the first Test," said Jones.

Coach Howley explains Delve's Wales call-up

"But it's also a shop window for a lot of the younger boys - and myself - that featured in the to put our hands up and get selected for the next two Tests.

"We're aware there's only this one midweek game, so it's probably the final opportunity for a few of us... but we're relishing the opportunity.

"It's not often you get to play a club side representing your national side, so we're looking forward to it."

The Brumbies have won four of their past five Super 15 games and lead the Australian Conference table by five points.

The also have a great record against Wales, with ACT having beaten the tourists in their previous two encounters 21-20 in Canberra in 1978 and 69-30 in 1996.

"They're on a pretty good roll," Jones admitted. "They're pretty well known in the northern hemisphere so it's going to be an ask obviously but a good test for the youngsters and the squad alike.

"You look at the strength in depth we've got now, possibly didn't have the strength in the past but we've definitely got it now."

Wales caretaker coach Rob Howley has named Gareth Delve on the bench against the Brumbies, after the Melbourne Rebels number eight in the tour squad.

Delve won the last of his 11 caps against Ireland in March 2010 but last faced the Brumbies on 1 June, captaining the Rebels in a 27-19 defeat against their Australian rivals.

ACT Brumbies:

Robbie Coleman; Cam Crawford, Tevita Kuridrani, Andrew Smith, Kimami Sitauti; Zack Holmes, Ian Prior; Ruaidhri Murphy, Anthony Hegarty, Scott Sio, Leon Power, Ben Hand (capt), Peter Kimlin, Colby Faingaa, Ita Vaea.

Replacements: Siliva Siliva, JP Pradaud, Dylan Sigg, Fotu Auelua, Beau Mokoputo, Tom Cox, Jesse Mogg.


Liam Williams; Harry Robinson, Andrew Bishop, Ashley Beck, Aled Brew; James Hook, Rhys Webb; Paul James, Richard Hibbard, Rhodri Jones, Alun Wyn Jones (capt), Luke Charteris, Josh Turnbull, Justin Tipuric, Aaron Shingler.

Replacements: Ken Owens, Rhys Gill, Ian Evans, Gareth Delve, Lloyd Williams, Rhys Priestland, Alex Cuthbert.

Referee: Ian Smith