Pro12: Newport Gwent Dragons 14-3 Connacht

Pat Leach is about to be halted, but he goes on to score the game's opening try for the Dragons
Pat Leach is about to be halted, but he goes on to score the game's opening try for the Dragons in a game they won 14-3

Newport Gwent Dragons ended a seven-match losing run as they saw off Connacht at Rodney Parade.

Centre Pat Leach went over for the only try in the 37th minute while visiting hooker Jason Harris-Wright and flanker Andrew Browne were in the sin-bin.

Home skipper Lewis Evans was also yellow-carded in the 67th minute.

Dan Park kicked a penalty for Connacht, while Tom Prydie hit the target three times for the hosts.

Defeat denied Connacht their first back-to-back wins since April 2012.

But for the Dragons, there was relief as they ended the worst losing sequence since they were formed in 2003.

The visitors dominated early on and gained what was to be their only reward when Parks kicked his fourth-minute penalty.

However, from then on Connacht were hindered by mistakes and indiscipline, allowing Prydie his three penalties, the first after Harris-Wright's sin-binning.

Andrew Brown's 10-minute banishment five minutes after Harris-Wright's compounded Connacht's problems.

The two-man deficit took its toll as the hosts took advantage when Leach went over.

That gave the Dragons an 8-3 lead at the break and Prydie added two more penalties in the second half to ensure victory with the visitors unable to muster a reply.


Dragons: Tom Prydie; Will Harries, Pat Leach, Ashley Smith, Tonderai Chavhanga; Dan Evans, Wayne Evans; Phil Price, Hugh Gustafson, Dan Way, Adam Jones, Rob Sidoli, Lewis Evans (capt), Nic Cudd, Tom Brown.

Replacements: Jack Dixon for A Smith (41), Jonathan Evans for W Evans (57), Owen Evans for Price (80), Steve Jones for Gustafson (57), Nathan Buck for Way (56), Ian Nimmo for Sidoli (77), Ieuan Jones for Lewis Evans (80).

Not Used: Robling.

Sin Bin: Lewis Evans (67).

Connacht: Robbie Henshaw; Tiernan O'Halloran, Danie Poolman, Dave McSharry, Gavin Duffy (capt); Dan Parks, Kieran Marmion; Denis Buckley, Jason Harris-Wright, Nathan White; Michael Swift, Mick Kearney; Andrew Browne, Willie Faloon, Eoin McKeon.

Replacements: David Moore for Marmion (76), Rodney Ah You for Buckley (63), Ronan Loughney for White (65).

Not Used: Reynecke, Gannon, O'Connor, Nikora, Healy.

Sin Bin: Harris-Wright (26), Browne (32).

Att: 4,168

Referee: Giuseppe Vivarini (Italy)

Assistant Referees: James Jones, Kevin Shorte (both WRU)

Citing Commissioner: Ray Walton (WRU)

Top Stories