Six Nations: Ireland omit winger Andrew Trimble for Wales game

Andrew Trimble

Ulster winger Andrew Trimble has been left out of Ireland's 33-man training squad for the opening Six Nations match against Wales on Saturday.

For Ireland's last match against Argentina in November, Trimble lost his place in the team to provincial colleague and rising star Craig Gilroy.

Trimble played for the Irish Wolfhounds in Friday's 14-10 defeat by England Saxons in Galway.

Eleven of that team are in Declan Kidney's squad - but not Trimble.

Strong-running winger Trimble has won 49 caps for Ireland and many had expected him to feature in the Cardiff fixture.

Dave McSharry and Paddy Jackson picked up minor knocks from the Wolfhounds game in Galway, but they were not serious enough to rule them out of joining up with the training squad

The Ireland team to play Wales will be announced on Tuesday at lunchtime.

Kidney faces a number of selection dilemmas, with flankers Sean O'Brien, Chris Henry and Peter O'Mahony vying to join skipper Jamie Heaslip in the back row.

Mike Ross, Rory Best and Cian Healy are expected to make up the front row, with Donnacha Ryan and Mike McCarthy completing the pack as second rows.

Rob Kearney is set to return at full-back, with Keith Earls, Simon Zebo and Craig Gilroy contending for the two spots on the wings.

Earls could also play at centre, although the fit-again Brian O'Driscoll and Gordon D'Arcy are likely to continue their longstanding combination.

France-bound Jonathan Sexton and Munster's Conor Murray are the likely half-back pairing.

Ireland training squad: Michael Bent, Rory Best, Tom Court, Sean Cronin, Gordon D'Arcy, Keith Earls, Luke Fitzgerald, Declan Fitzpatrick, Craig Gilroy, Cian Healy, Jamie Heaslip, Iain Henderson, Chris Henry, Paddy Jackson, Rob Kearney, David Kilcoyne, Conor Murray, Mike McCarthy, Kevin McLaughlin, Fergus McFadden, Dave McSharry, Sean O'Brien, Donncha O'Callaghan, Brian O'Driscoll, Ronan O'Gara, Peter O'Mahony, Eoin Reddan, Mike Ross, Donnacha Ryan, Jonathan Sexton, Mike Sherry, Devin Toner, Simon Zebo.

Top Stories