Bristol release 11 players as Sean Holley is added to backroom

Wayne Thompson

Bristol have announced 11 players will not be offered new contracts.

Wayne Thompson, George Biagi, David McIlwaine, Alafoti Faosiliva, Matthew Jones, Tom Slater and Matt Williams have all been released.

Tom Channon has agreed a move to Cornish Pirates, Mike Tagicakibau will rejoin Saracens, while Jon Goodridge and Jack Gadd are retiring.

Meanwhile, former Ospreys coach Sean Holley has agreed to join Andy Robinson's backroom staff.

Holley, who has been named first-team coach, has international experience as Wales assistant boss and has also spent time at Scarlets and Gloucester.

The 42-year-old's most successful spell came at Ospreys, where he spent nine years and led them to three Magners League titles.

Holley arrives alongside former Bath youth coach John Harrison, who has been appointed the team manager.

Long-serving prop Thompson, 29, leaves the Memorial Stadium having made 151 appearances for the club.

Former Gloucester and Leeds full-back Goodridge, 32, has decided to retire after 12 years in the professional game, while Bristol academy product Gadd, 21, has been forced to quit because of an on-going hip injury.