Pro12: Zebre 25-27 Munster

Marco Bortolami outjumps Paddy Butler to win a line-out

ZEBRE (22) 25

Sinoti, Venditti
Halangahu 3, Garcia 2

MUNSTER (14) 27

Murphy, Butler, Botha
Keatley 2
Keatley 3

Munster overcame an eight-point half-time deficit against Zebre to finish their Pro12 campaign in sixth place.

The Italian minnows looked set to secure their first win of the season when they led 22-14 at the interval.

Sinoti and Venditti crossed over for Zebre while Murphy and Butler replied for Rob Penney's Munster side in Parma.

Unerring kicking from Ian Keatley and a 65th minute try from BJ Botha put Munster in charge and Halangahu missed a late penalty for the home side.

The Italians looked on course to end a poor season with a flourish when an energetic first-half display put them in charge.

Despite conceding two tries in the first quarter to Johnny Murphy and Paddy Butler, they responded with a try from Sinoti Sinoti and penalties from Daniel Halangahu and Gonzalo Garcia to level the scores at 14 points apiece.

Venditti touched down in the corner and a further Garcia penalty gave them a 22-14 half-time cushion.

On the hour mark, they still were in front by 25-20 and looked on course to secure a first league victory in their last game of the season.

However BJ Botha scored within two minutes of coming on as a replacement and Keatley added the extras to nudge Munster ahead again.

Halangahu missed a penalty seven minutes from the end and the Munster defence held firm to seal a dramatic victory.

Zebre: R Trevisan; G Venditti, A Benettin, G Garcia, S Sinoti; D Halangahu, T Tebaldi; M Aguero, D Giazzon, D Ryan; J Sole, M Bortolami (capt); F Ferrarini, M Bergamasco, A Van Schalkwyk.

Replacements: Manici for Giazzon (48), Leibson for Ryan (56), Cristiano for van Schalkwyk (79).

Not Used: De Marchi, Caffini, Chillon, Pratichetti, Pace.

Munster: D Hurley; R O'Mahony, C Laulala, I Keatley, J Murphy; JJ Hanrahan, C Sheridan; D Kilcoyne, M Sherry, J Ryan; B Holland, P O'Connell capt; Dave O'Callaghan, S Dougall, P Butler.

Replacements: Williams for Sheridan (54), Nagle for Holland (58), Ronan for Dougall (58), Cronin for Kilcoyne (63), Botha for Ryan (64), Bohane for Hanrahan (67).

Not Used: Scanlon, Jones.

Referee: Andrew McMenemy (Scotland)

Attendance: 3,000

Top Stories