Sam Warburton omitted from Pro12 team of the year

Justin Tipuric and Sam Warburton

British and Irish Lions skipper Sam Warburton has been overlooked for the Pro12's 2012-13 Dream Team.

Wales and Lions rival Justin Tipuric has beaten the Cardiff Blues back row to the open-side flank.

Leinster's Ian Madigan takes the number 10 spot team-mate at the expense of team-mate Jonathan Sexton.

Lions centres Brian O'Driscoll and Jamie Roberts also miss out as Ulster's Luke Marshall partners Scarlets' Jonathan Davies.

Sam Warburton

And wing Alex Cuthbert, who scored twice as Wales beat England to lift the 2013 Six Nations title in March, misses out as Edinburgh's Scottish international Tim Visser takes one of the flank berths alongside George North.

Up front, more players selected in the Lions squad this week find themselves overlooked.

Treviso hooker Leonardo Ghiraldini sees off Australia-bound Ospreys hooker Richard Hibbard, Ospreys lock Ian Evans loses out to Glasgow's Ali Kellock, while outstanding Ulster number eight Nick Williams ensures there is no places for Newport Gwent Dragons' Toby Faletau.

Having made only a handful of appearances for the Dragons before being selected for the Lions, flanker Dan Lydiate's challenge for a place was in vain with Treviso's Alessandro Zanni taking the number six jersey.

Zanni's inclusion also denied Warburton the chance to take the blind-side slot in which he appeared against England - a game in which Tipuric wore seven.

The team was voted on by members of the media from the four-country tournament, with the final XV derived from 81 nominations.

Madigan and Visser took 11 votes apiece with North (10), Tipuric (eight) and Nick Williams (seven) the next most popular votes.

2013 Rabodirect Pro12 Dream Team:

Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors); George North (Scarlets), Luke Marshall (Ulster), Jonathan Davies (Scarlets), Tim Visser (Edinburgh); Ian Madigan (Leinster), Niko Watawalu (Glasgow); Ryan Grant (Glasgow), Leonardo Ghiraldini (Treviso), Adam Jones (Ospreys), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Ali Kellock (Glasgow), Alessandro Zanni (Treviso), Nick Williams (Ulster), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys).

Top Stories