Welsh rugby's ins & outs 2013-14

Jamie Roberts and Gethin Jenkins

Scrum V details player movements ahead of the 2013-14 season.


Arrivals: Gethin Jenkins (Toulon), Matthew Rees (Scarlets), Richard Smith (Cardiff RFC/Wales sevens), Miles Normandale (Blues Academy), Aled Summerhill (Blues Academy), Ben Roach (Blues Academy), Ellis Jenkins (Blues Academy), Tom Pascoe (Blues Academy), Will Thomas (Blues Academy)

Departures: Jason Tovey (Newport Gwent Dragons), Jamie Roberts (Racing Metro), Andy Kyriacou (retired), Ceri Sweeney (Exeter Chiefs), Tom James (Exeter Chiefs), Michael Paterson (Sale Sharks), Campese Ma'afu (Nottingham), Ryan Harford (Cardiff RFC), Nathan Trevett (London Welsh), Matthew Screech (Newport Gwent Dragons), Darren Harries (Scarlets), Jake Cooper Wooley (London Wasps), Cory Hill (Moseley Rugby), Petru Tamba (Unattached).

Off-field: Defence coach Xavier Rush out, forwards coach Andy Kyriacou in, Dale McIntosh in, Mark Ring in.


Arrivals: Sam Williams (Aberavon), Jamie Murphy (Bridgend), Matthew Dwyer (Welsh Guards/Bridgend), Tyler Ardron (Ontario Blues, Canada), Jeff Hassler (Prairie Wolfpack, Canada), Tito Tebaldi (Zebre), Aisea Natoga (Nadroga, Fiji).

Departures: Kahn Fotuali'i (Northampton), Jonathan Thomas (Worcester Warriors), Campbell Johnstone, Krasny Yar Krasnoyarsk (Russia) and George Stowers (Tasman).

Off-field: Geoff Atherton retires as chairman, Roger Blyth moves from managing director to chairman, Andrew Hore moves from being chief operations officer to become chief executive, forwards coach Jonathan Humphreys out (Scotland), Chris Gibbes in (Waikato, NZ)


Arrivals: Richie Rees (Edinburgh), T Rhys Thomas (London Wasps), Jason Tovey (Blues), Netani Talei (Edinburgh), Martin Muller (Cheetahs SA), Tetaz Chapparo (Stade Francais), Kris Burton (Benetton Treviso).

Departures: Dan Lydiate (Racing Metro), Steve Jones (retired), Tonderai Chavhanga (Cheetahs SA), Jamie Smith, Andy Tuilagi, Hywel Stoddart, Josh Tyler, Dan Watchurst (retired), Tom Brown (Jersey),

Off-field: Director of rugby Lyn Jones in, assistant coach Kinglsey Jones in, defence coach Rob Appleyard out, Robert Beale becomes team manager, forwards coach Iestyn Thomas out.


Arrivals: John Barclay (Glasgow), Steven Shingler (London Irish), Richard Kelly (Scarlets Academy), Kyle Evans (development contract)

Departures: George North (Northampton), Andy Fenby (London Irish), Morgan Stoddart (retired during 2012-13 seaon), Kieran Murphy (Brive), Peter Edwards (London Welsh), Owen Williams (Leicester), Sione Timani, Richie Pugh, Jonathan Edwards (Cardiff RFC), Dan Newton (London Scottish), Tavis Knoyle (Gloucester), Dale Ford, Rhys Jones, Craig Hawkins.

Off field: No changes


Gavin Henson (London Welsh to Bath), Gareth Delve departs Melbourne Rebels, James Loxton departs Connacht, Matthew Jarvis departs Connacht, Lee Thomas (London Wasps, retired), Ceri Jones (retires, but now Worcester Warriors forwards coach), Stephen Jones (retired and now coach at London Wasps), Nicky Robinson (London Wasps to Bristol), Huw Bennett (Lyon, retired), Olly Kohn (Harlequins, retired)

Top Stories